The Islamic Federal Republic of the Comoros occupies an archipelago in the Indian Ocean between the mainland of Africa and the island country of Madagascar. It consists of three of the four main islands­Anjouan (Nzwani), Grande Comore (Njazidja) and Moheli (Mwali). The fourth major island, Mayotte, is a dependency of France, although the Comoros claims sovereignty. . The three islands of the Comoros (excluding Mayotte) cover 1862 km2.

The islands are of volcanic origin and are mountainous. The highest mountain is Mont Karthala, which rises to 2361 m and is an active volcano, with major eruptions in 1965 and 1977. Plateaus and valleys lie below the peaks. The island shores are rocky with few sandy beaches.

The climate is tropical, oceanic, and subject to monsoons with a cool, dry season between April and October. The islands experience their warmest weather and heaviest rainfall between November and March and are also subject to cyclones. Daily temperatures seldom rise above 30° C. Up to 5 000 mm of rain per year fall on the upper slopes of Karthala, decreasing at lower elevations.

The designations employed and the presentation of material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

last updated:  Monday, May 28, 2012