Forests and forestry in Small Island Developing States (SIDS)

Logo Small Island Developing states

There is no internationally accepted definition of a small island developing state. However, small island states were given an international political identity with the establishment in 1991 of the Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) currently comprising 39 members (including four low-lying coastal states: Guinea-Bissau, Belize, Guyana and Suriname) and four dependent territories as observers. Two additional Small Island Developing States are members of FAO, but not of AOSIS (Bahrain and the Dominican Republic) adding up to 41 taken into consideration in this Web site. Ten of these states have 'least developed country' status within the United Nations system.

Below is a list of the 41 states, which are members of FAO and/or of AOSIS as of September 2002. (The list includes the four low-lying coastal states, but excludes dependent territories including those with observer status in AOSIS.)

  • Cape Verde
  • Comoros
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Mauritius
  • S? Tom?and Principe
  • Seychelles
  • Malta
  • Cook Islands
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu*
  • Vanuatu
  • Bahrain**
  • Cyprus
  • Maldives
  • Singapore*
North and Central America:
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic**
  • Grenada
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadine
  • Trinidad and Tobago
South America:
  • Guyana
  • Suriname

* = Not an FAO member, but a member of AOSIS

** = Not an AOSIS member, but a member of FAO


last updated:  Monday, July 14, 2008