Silva Mediterranea

Over 90 years of Mediterranean forest management


Membership in Silva Mediterranea is open to all members of the FAO African, European, and Near East Forestry Commissions, whose territories are situated wholly or in part in the Mediterranean basin proper or whose forest, agricultural, or grazing economies are intimately associated with those of the Mediterranean region. The Committee currently has 27 members, including 26 states and one organization:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Egypt
  • European Union
  • France
  • Greece
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Yemen

For further information on a country, please click on the links below.

Country Focal point Organization
Albania Ylli Hoxha Ministry of Environment
Algeria Abdelkader Benkheira Ministry of Agriculture and Sustainable Development
Bulgaria Denitsa Pandeva Executive Forest Agency
Cyprus Charalambos Alexandrou  Ministry of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment
Egypt Raafat Rabies  
France Catherine Rivoal Ministry of Agriculture, Agrifood and Forests
Greece Maria Chatziioannou  
Iraq Sabah Saleim Al-Kawaz  
Israel David Brand
Asaf Karavani
Keren Kayemeth LeIsrael (KKL)
Italy Enrico Pompei Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Forestry
Jordan Khaled Al Manaseer Ministry of Agriculture
Lebanon Chadi Mohanna Ministry of Agriculture
Libya Taher Abu Baker Al Hasoumi Ministry of Agriculture Animal and Marine Wealth
Morocco Abderrahim Houmy High Commission for Waters and Forests and the Fight against Desertification
Portugal Conceição Ferreira Instituto da Conservação da Natureza e das Florestas
Romania Vasile Lupu Ministry of Agriculture
Serbia Dusan Jovic Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Water Management
Slovenia Andrej Kermavnar Slovenia Forest Service

Isabel Bombal Díaz
Jose Jaquotot Saenz de Miera
Leopoldo Rojo Serrano

Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
Sudan Osman Omer Abdalla Forests National Corporation
Tunisia Habib Abid Ministry of Agriculture
Turkey Ismail Belen Ministry of Forests and Water Affairs

Omar Ghanem

Ministry of Agriculture & Irrigation

last updated:  Friday, February 15, 2019