Системы сельскохозяйственного наследия мирового значения (ГИАХС)

Agricultural heritage around the world

The Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS) represent not only stunning natural landscapes but also agricultural practices that create livelihoods in rural areas while combining biodiversity, resilient ecosystems and tradition and innovation in a unique way.

Since 2005, FAO has designated 62 systems in 22 countries as agricultural heritage sites, and currently, 15 new proposals from 9 different countries were received.

Take a moment to check the list by region and country of our global agricultural heritage sites. Don't miss visiting each designated system's dedicated webpage to discover more information, photos, videos, news, and stories.

For the list of the designated sites, please click here.

Agricultural heritage systems by region


and the Pacific

and Central Asia

Latin America
and the Caribbean

Neat East
and North Africa

View of the designated and proposed sites around the world

Designated sites

Proposed sites