Kyrgyzstan introduces a new six-month ban on exports of agricultural products


On 19 November 2020, the Government adopted the Resolution 569, introducing a six-month ban on the exports of some agricultural products, including livestock, poultry, eggs, cereals, vegetable oil and sugar to countries outside the Eurasian Economic Union. The ban does not apply to re-export, transit, as well as humanitarian aid products. The measure was taken to ensure adequate domestic availabilities and preserve food security in the context of the ongoing COVID-19 emergency. On 23 March 2020, the Government had imposed a six-month ban on the exports of a range of products, including wheat grain, wheat flour, rice, vegetable oils and sugar, which expired on 22 September.

Country: Kyrgyzstan
Region: CIS (Asia & Europe)