Home > Global Soil Partnership > Regional partnerships > Africa
Global Soil Partnership

African Soil Partnership

The African Soil Partnership (AfSP) is composed of the Sub-Saharan countries. African soils are very diverse and have great potential and value for food security and overall sustainable development. However, soil degradation is a serious process that is threatening the region’s soil resources through its various forms and thus is affecting economic development, particularly agricultural production and associated food and nutrition security, provision of ecosystem services and increasing poverty. 


The key priorities of the African Soil Partnership are to :

  • Protect and conserve healthy soils and restore degraded soils.
  • Promote sustainable management of soil resources at all levels and in all land uses.
  • Enhance soil information by using state of the art methods of digital soil mapping and advocate for having effective National Soil Information Systems.
  • Encourage investment in the promotion of sustainable soil management to achieve sustainable development.

Working group

Chair: Mr. Victor Chude, Nigeria 

The pillar chairs elected are as follows :

 Pillar 1 Chair: Fanosie Mekonen (Ethiopia) 

Thomas Chigowo (Malawi), Pascal Rushemuka (Rwanda), Geophrey Kajiru (Tanzania), Jacques Tavares (Cabo Verde), Flore Arlende Ngomeni EP Nguegoue (Cameroon), Ngadi Litadi (Gabon), Mamadou Amadou Sow (Senegal), Saidou Addam Kiari (Niger), Afawoubo Koffi Gbelekor (Togo), Abdou Rahman Jobe (Gambia), Aissatou Taran Diallo (Guinea), Emmanuel Chikwari (Zimbabwe), Ramakgwale Klaas Mampholo (South Africa), Hami Said (Djibouti)

  Pillar 2 Chair: Ramakgwale Klaas Mampholo (South Africa) 

Patrick B Dlamini (Kingdom of Eswatini), Jacques Tavares (Cabo Verde)

  Pillar 3 Chair: Martin Yemefack (Cameroon) 

Hami Said (Djibouti), Jean-Arsène Yamale (Central African Republic), Kiflemarian Abraha (Eritrea), Geophrey Kajiru (Tanzania), Attanda Mouinou Igue (Benin), Isaurinda Baptista (Cabo Verde), Ngadi Litadi (Gabon), Thomas Chigowo (Malawi), Anne Muriuki (Kenya)

 Pillar 4 Chair: Christian Omuto (Kenya) 

Mamadou Amadou Sow (Senegal), Ngadi Litadi (Gabon), Jacques Tavares (Cabo Verde), Attanda Mouinou Igue (Benin), Ramakgwale Klaas Mampholo (South Africa), Pascal Rushemuka (Rwanda), Anne Muriuki (Kenya), Vinod B. Lalljee (Mauritius), Patrick B Dlamini (Kingdom of Eswatini), Aissatou Taran Diallo (Guinea), Lorenzo Oyono Obama (Equatorial Guinea), Memma Beibatta (Mauritania)

 Pillar 5 Chair: Vinod B. Lalljee (Mauritius)

Flore Arlende Ngomeni EP Nguegoue (Cameroon), Ramakgwale Klaas Mampholo (South Africa), Afawoubo Koffi Gbelekor (Togo), Anne Muriuki (Kenya), Pascal Rushemuka (Rwanda), Marcelino Vaz (Guinea Bissau), Fanosie Mekonen (Ethiopia)

Regional Coordinator: Ms Zineb Bazza (GSP Secretariat)