Accueil > Partenariat mondial sur les sols > Partenariats régionaux > Europe
Partenariat mondial sur les sols

European Soil Partnership

The aim of the European Soil Partnership is to bring together the various scattered networks and soil related activities into a common framework, open to all institutions and stakeholders willing to actively contribute to sustainable soil management in Europe.

In October 2013, taking the opportunity of the second Global Soil Week, the Global Soil Partnership (GSP) secretariat convened a workshop to launch the establishment of the European Soil Partnership. The Berlin communiqué consolidated the European Soil Partnership (ESP), whose Secretariat is hosted by the European Commission DG JRC in Ispra, Italy. The sub-regional Eurasian Soil Partnership is established within the European Soil Partnership and its Secretariat is based in Moscow, Russian Federation.

The activities of the ESP focusses on three main deliverables: 

  • The economics of ecosystem services provided by soil (linked to MAES Soil). Lead: European Commission
  • Soils in the post-2015 development agenda (SDGs related to soil and land). Lead: IASS
  • Status report of European soil resources as part of the Status of World Soil Resources Report of the ITPS. Lead: Russian Federation

Working groups

The following ESP Steering Committee members took over the leadership for the pillars of action:

Pillar 1 Chair: Violette Geissen (Wageningen University, The Netherlands)

  Pillar 2 Chair: Arwyn Jones (European Commission)

  Pillar 3 Chair: Coen Ritsema  (Wageningen University, The Netherlands) and Gergely Tóth (Centre for Agricultural Research and University of Pannonia, Hungary)

Pillar 4 Chair: Edoardo Costantini (Consiglio per la ricerca in agricoltura e l'analisi dell'economia agraria CREA)

Pillar 5 Chair: Hakki Erdogan (MAAF, Turkey)

Regional Coordinator: Mr Yusuf Yigini (GSP Secretariat)

Steering Committee

To achieve the goals of the European Soil Partnership a Steering Committee was established with the following members :

  • Chair:   Ms.  Elena  Havlicek  (Switzerland)
  • Vice-chairs: Mr. Hakki Erdogan  (Turkey) and  Mr. Carmelo Dazzi (Italy)
  • Representative of the ESP-secretariat: Marc Van Liedekerke
  • Representative of the GSP-secretariat: Ronald Vargas
  • Chairs of the ESP Pillar working groups: see above
  • Representative of the Eurasian Sub-regional Partnership (EASP): Gulchekhra Khasankhanova
  • Representative of the ITPS (European members): Peter de Ruiter