Глобальное почвенное партнерство

European Soil Partnership

The European Soil Partnership (ESP) was established in October 2013 during the second Global Soil Week to bring all networks and soil related activities under a common framework. Its Secretariat is hosted at the European Commission DG JRC in Ispra, Italy. The Partnership is open to institutions and stakeholders willing to actively contribute to sustainable soil management in Europe. National needs and priorities are translated into regional actions through the ESP implementation plan. The sub-regional Eurasian Soil Partnership is established within the ESP. Its Secretariat is based in Moscow, Russian Federation.

List of countries

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland,  United Kingdom, European Commission. See the list of GSP national focal points.


Chair: Mr Rainer Baritz (European Environment Agency (EEA)

Secretary: Mr Marc van Liedekerke (European Commission)

Regional facilitator: Mr. Yusuf Yigini (GSP Secretariat)

The following ESP Steering Committee members took over the leadership for the pillars of action:

Pillar 1 Chair: Ms Violette Geissen (The Netherlands)

  Pillar 2 Chair: Mr Arwyn Jones (European Commission)

  Pillar 3 Chair: Mr Coen Ritsema  (The Netherlands) and Mr. Gergely Tóth (Hungary)

Pillar 4 Chair: Ms Maria Fantappiè (Italy)

Pillar 5 Chair: Mr Hakki Erdogan (Turkey)

Steering Committee

To achieve the goals of the ESP a Steering Committee was established with the following members:

  • Chair: Mr Rainer Baritz (European Environment Agency (EEA)
  • Representative of the ESP-secretariat: Mr Marc Van Liedekerke (European Commission)
  • Representative of the GSP-secretariat: Mr Ronald Vargas (GSP Secretariat)
  • Chairs of the ESP Pillar working groups: see above
  • Representative of the Eurasian Sub-regional Partnership (EASP): Ms Gulchekhra Khasankhanova (Uzbekistan)
  • Representative of the ITPS (European members): Mr Peter de Ruiter (The Netherlands)

ESP events

Annual meetings


2020 Online meeting

Seventh Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, 10 September 2020
Details of the eventAgenda and input documents | Report | Presentations 

2019 Rome

Sixth Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, Mar 2019

Details of the event | Agenda | Report | Presentations Photogallery

2018 Rome

Fifth Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, Mar 2018

Details of the event | Agenda | Report | Presentations | Photo gallery

2017 Rome

Fourth Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, May 2017

Details of the eventAgenda | Report | Implementation plan | Presentations | Photo gallery

2016 Rome

Third Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, Mar 2016

Details of the event | AgendaTerms of Reference of the ESP | Report | Draft Implementation plan | Photo gallery

2015 Rome

Second Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, Mar 2015

Details of the event | Agenda | Report | Presentations |  Photogallery

2014 Ispra

First Plenary Meeting of the European Soil Partnership, May 2014

Details of the event | Agenda

2013 Berlin

Launch of the European Soil Partnership, Oct 2013

Details of the event | Berlin communiqué | Agenda