Global Soil Partnership

Near East and North Africa Soil Partnership

On 1-5 April 2012 an inception workshop on soil information in Amman, Jordan was the occasion for establishing the initial Near East-North Africa Soil Partnership. 12 national soil institutions participated and presented their status in terms of soil information and soil activities as well as the needs and priorities that the regional partnership should focus on. 

The Ministry of Agriculture of Jordan was the host of this meeting and is leading the implementation of some regional activities. The Amman Communiqué was prepared by the participants in which they fully support the Global Soil Partnership and expressed that there is need for strengthening the soil institutions through capacity development and investing in sustainable soil management practices. 

FAO through the GSP is supporting the implementation of a regional soil information activity that will boost the formal establishment and implementation of the MENA Soil Partnership.

NENA Soil Partnership Conference - June 2014

A NENA Soil Partnership Conference was jointly organized with the Ministry of Agriculture of Jordan on 17-19 June 2014, in Amman, Jordan. The conference objectives were:

  1. to stocktaking on the status, needs and priorities for promoting sustainable soil management in the region;
  2. to institutionalize the NENA Soil Partnership by setting its secretariat and steering committee;
  3. to present the results and the gaps of the NENA Soil Information System Phase I; and
  4. to jointly define a roadmap for the implementation of actions at the NENA Soil Partnership.


The Conference was attended by representatives from 14 countries in the region. The Amman Recommendation was prepared during the conference in which the following decisions were taken:

1. Confirmed the Secretariat hosted by the Ministry of Agriculture of Jordan.

2. Established the Steering Committee composed by:

  • Mr. Nabeel Al Bahrani, Oman
  • Ms. Iman Sahib Salman, Iraq
  • Mr. Rachid Moussadek, Morocco
  • Mr. Mohammad Reda, Egypt
  • Mr. Mahmoud Alferihat, NENASP Secretariat

3. Agreed to nominate chairs for the five GSP Pillars as per below:

  • Pillar 1: Mr. Hedi Hamrouni, Tunisia
  • Pillar 2: Mr. Ali Hameed Al Sabani, Bahrain
  • Pillar 3: Mr. Mohmmad Hussein, Egypt
  • Pillar 4: Mr. Rachid Moussadek, Morocco
  • Pillar 5: Mr. Imad Ghanma, Palestine