Home > Sala stampa > News Article
Questo articolo non è disponibile in italiano.

Cliccare qui per chiudere il messaggio.

African Union Commission, Thai Ministry and National Geographic magazine garner awards from FAO

Prizes for work in support of sustainable agriculture, food security announced during Conference

10 June 2015, Rome - The African Union Commission (AUC), Thailand's Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives, National Geographic magazine and the non-profit World Rural Forum will receive awards for their efforts to reduce hunger and raise awareness of the challenges facing the world's food systems, FAO announced today.

The award recipients – they will be formally handed over in November during celebrations of FAO's 70th anniversary – were announced here during FAO's governing Conference (6-13 June).

The AUC will receive the FAO Jacques Diouf Award for its Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) compacts, which have leveraged resources to boost sustainable agriculture, food security and nutrition across the African continent. The CAADP push helped paved the way to the commitment at the 23rd AU summit in Malabo to eradicate hunger in Africa by 2025.

Named for FAO's previous Director-General, the award recognizes individuals or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the improvement of global food security.

The AUC shares the award with the World Rural Forum, a globe-spanning network of rural organizations and researchers. It was honored for supporting dialogues between rural communities and its policy advocacy on behalf of family farmers.

National Geographic magazine will receive the A.H. Boerma Award — awarded to journalists who have brought food security and rural development issues to the attention of civil society — for its ground-breaking series, The Future of Food, an in-depth exploration of the planet's diverse food systems and options for feeding a growing global population in a sustainable way.

Thailand's Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives (MOAC) has been named the winner of the 2014-15 Edouard Saouma Award for spearheading regional collaboration across the Great Mekong to combat Cassava Pink Mealybug, a destructive crop pest. The award is presented every two years to institutions that have implemented with particular efficiency a project funded by FAO's Technical Cooperation Programme (TCP).

FAO staff in the field recognized for contributions

Four FAO staff members will also win recognition for their work in the field to promote sustainable agriculture, build resilient rural communities, and improve food and nutrition security.

Mr. Ciro Fiorillo, with FAO in Bangladesh, and Mr. Cyprien Felix Biaou, of the Organization's Somalia office, have been named winners of the B.R. Sen Award for 2013.

Ms Lalita Bhattacharjee, also with FAO's Bangladesh operation, and Mr. Mamoudou Diallo, the Organization's Representative in Angola, have won for the 2014 period.

The award recognizes FAO field officers for outstanding contributions to the advancement of their country(s) of assignment.

Photo: ©FAO/Ami Vitale
Shopping on the streets of Cairo. The winners of the FAO awards announced today have all advanced the cause of food security in diverse ways.

Share this page