Great Green Wall for the Sahara and Sahel Initiative

The Great Green Wall initiative covers more than 20 African countries, including Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the Gambia, Senegal,  Sudan and Togo.

Areas of intervention include:

  • Biodiversity conservation Sustainable management of natural resources, including soils, water, forests, rangelands
  • Promotion of sustainable rural production systems in agriculture, pastoralism and forestry
  • Development of infrastructure for the production and marketing of rural products
  • Diversification of economic activities, for example through rural production centers, to stimulate job creation and offer income generation activities, in particular for youth and women

Since 2011, FAO and its partners have been supporting the African Union Commission and 13 countries (Algeria, Burkina Faso,  Chad, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, the Gambia, Senegal and the Sudan) to develop activities in the framework of the Great Green Wall initiative, with funding from the European Union ($1.9M), the Global Mechanism of the UNCCD ($380,000) and FAO ($456,000).

Achievements so far include:

  • Development of a harmonized regional strategy for the effective implementation of the Great Green Wall initiative, validated in April 2012
  • Development of action plans for 10 countries, defining Great Green Wall intervention priorities

The following activities are currently under development:

  • Preparation of implementation plans for the remaining countries
  • Formulation of project portfolios in the 13 Great Green Wall countries, including the design of cross-border projects and resource mobilization for their implementation
  • Development of an umbrella platform for resource mobilization, knowledge management and best practices sharing and visibility

Capacity development and effective communication strategies and plans.

Photo gallery

Building the African wall