International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

BSF Project - Second Cycle

Resources Management to Adapt to Climate Change in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
RISING TEMPERATURES, DECLINING rainfall and frequent sandstorms in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) have been damaging agricultural production and changing the agro-ecosystems. In efforts to adapt to climate change, the DPRK government has placed utmost priority on developing new varieties of key food crops through better utilization and improved management.  This BSF project aims at developing 11 specific strategies for conservation and utilization of rice, maize, wheat, barley and potato, which account for the largest proportion of people’s food consumption in the country and are indispensable for food security. These plans, through the involvement of national decision makers, foreign partners from the  Deutsche Gesellschaft Fuer Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), scientists and farmers, aim at  improving the management of crop genetic resources nationwide and effectively utilizing the PGRFA to adapt crop production to changing agro-climatic conditions, diversifying crop cultivation and guaranteeing sustainable growth in agricultural production. Currently, direct beneficiaries, including farmers and governmental officials, have shared in training and discussions on global climate change trends and crop genetic resources management. The first Non‐standing Committee for the National Crop Genetic Resources Management to Adapt to Climate Change has been established.  Through this project, Korean experts have participated in a South-North knowledge exchange in Germany, which included visits to research institutes, farms and governmental departments. This was organized by the GIZ with support from the UNFCCC Secretariat and 17 German research institutions.
Barley, Maize, Potato, Rice, Wheat
Window 1 - Strategic Action Plans
Region: Asia
Target Countries: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Implementing institution: Academy of Agricultural Sciences

Share this page