International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture


The Compliance Committee

1. Overview

The Compliance Committee was established by the Governing Body through Resolution 3/2006.

According to the Compliance Procedures, the Compliance Committee has the following functions:

a) Consider information submitted to it regarding matters relating to compliance and issues of non-compliance;

b) Offer advice and/or facilitate assistance, as appropriate, to any Contracting Party, on matters relating to compliance with a view to assisting it to comply with its obligations under the International Treaty;

c) Assist the Governing Body in its monitoring of the implementation by Contracting Parties of their obligations under the International Treaty on the basis of reports of the Contracting Parties in accordance with Section V of the Procedures;

d) Address issues of non-compliance and identify the specific circumstances of the issue referred to it, in accordance with Sections VI to VIII of the Procedures;

e) Promote compliance by addressing statements and questions concerning the implementation of obligations under the International Treaty, in accordance with Section IX of the Procedures;

f) Carry out any other functions as may be assigned to it by the Governing Body pursuant to Article 21 of the International Treaty;

g) Submit a report to each regular session of the Governing Body reflecting:

i) the work that the Committee has undertaken;

ii) the conclusions and recommendations of the Committee; and

iii) the future programme of work of the Committee.


The Rules of Procedure of the Compliance Committee were adopted by the Governing Body through Resolution 9/2013.


2. Members

The Compliance Committee has the following Members:


Ms Angeline MUNZARA (2014)

Mr Koffi KOMBATE (2016)


Mr Anil Kumar ACHARYA (2018)

Mr Koukham VILAYHEUNG (2020)


Ms Susanna PAAKKOLA (2016)

Ms Kim VAN SEETERS (2018)


Mr Mahendra PERSAUD (2018)

Ms Mónica MARTÍNEZ (2020)


Ms Hanaiya EL-ITRIBY (2020)

Mr Javad MOZAFARI (2020)


Ms Neha Sheth LUGO (2018)

Ms Indra THIND (2018)


Ms Birte NASS-KOMOLONG (2020)

Mr Michael RYAN (2020)

The year in parenthesis indicates the beginning of the first term of the candidate

3. Meetings

Fourth Meeting of the Compliance Committee [03/02/2021 - 04/02/2021]

Third Meeting of the Compliance Committee [31/01/2019 - 01/02/2019]

Second Meeting of the Compliance Committee [21/02/2017 - 22/04/2017]

First Meeting of the Compliance Committee [20/04/2013 – 22/04/2013]

Share this page