المعاهدة الدولية بشأن الموارد الوراثية النباتية للأغذية والزراعة

رسالة لحلول 2020

المعاهدة الدولية في زمن كوفيد -19 (COVID-19)

كان من المفترض أن يكون عام 2020 عامًا تاريخياً للتنوع البيولوجي وثراء الحياة على الأرض. بدلاً من ذلك، طغت عليه أزمة صحية وموت وخراب. مع ظهور ربيع 2020 وبينما كانت المحاصيل جاهزة للحصاد أو الزراعة في حقول المزارعين (حسب الموقع الجغرافي على الكرة الأرضية)، حل نوع جديد من "الوباء" على البشرية: كوفيد -19

خلال هذا الزمن المثير للقلق بسبب العزلة الجسدية والانفصال الاجتماعي والالتباس، يتم تذكيرنا، مرة أخرى ، بمدى الترابط والاعتماد المتبادل بيننا حقًا، على المستويين الفردي والاجتماعي. كما يتم تذكيرنا بمدى هشاشة الحياة وبضعفنا المشترك كجنس بشري .

الحقيقة القاسية هي أن كوفيد-19 يؤثر سلبًا - على حياة الإنسان ونظمنا الغذائية وعلى إدارة المحاصيل التي نعتمد عليها - بالإضافة إلى تعطيل سلاسل القيمة الزراعية، وبالتالي ظهور مخاطر على الأمن الغذائي للأسر. من المعروف أن النظام الغذائي الصحي يجب أن يشمل الخضروات والبقول والحبوب والفواكه الكافية. إن أساس هذه المحاصيل والنباتات هو بالضبط ما تركز عليه المعاهدة الدولية بشأن الموارد الوراثية النباتية للأغذية والزراعة - البذور والموارد الوراثية النباتية الأخرى للأغذية والزراعة - وهي معرضة بنفس القدر للمخاطر بسبب الوضع الحالي

في هذا السياق، تلعب المعاهدة الدولية دورًا في تقييم ومواجهة التأثيرات المحتملة لجائحةكوفيد- 19 على حياة الناس وسبل عيشهم، والتجارة الغذائية العالمية، والأسواق ، وسلاسل الإمدادات الغذائية. وتقدم المعاهدة الدولية بعض الآليات القيمة التي يمكن أن تساعد على الانتعاش وتساهم فيه.

لقياس مدى تأثير الوباء العالمي، تقوم أمانة المعاهدة الدولية بتعبئة الموارد والخبرات لتقييم آثار جائحةكوفيد- 19 على إدارة الأصول الوراثية للمحاصيل، والتي تعد من الميزات الأساسية للزراعة المستدامة والنظم الغذائية المرنة. لقد بدأنا بإجراء دراسة استقصائية أتاحت لجهات الاتصال الوطنية وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في المعاهدة الدولية فرصة لتبادل المعلومات والآراء ولتحديد الاحتياجات والإجراءات اللازمة. بعد ذلك، وبدعم من المملكة المغربية، والتعاون مع الصندوق العالمي لتنوع المحاصيل، استدعينا لجنة عبر الإنترنت مكونة من خبراء دوليين رفيعي المستوى. وتناول فريق الخبراء عبر الإنترنت الآثار الحالية والمحتملة لجائحةكوفيد- 19 على صون الموارد الوراثية النباتية وإدارتها واستخدامها بغية تحقيق الأمن الغذائي والزراعة المستدامة. وعلى وجه الخصوص، ناقش الفريق كيفية حشد موارد وآليات المعاهدة الدولية للتكيف مع حقائق كوفيد 19، بالإضافة إلى انسجام المعاهدة الدولية مع برنامج منظمة الأغذية والزراعة لمواجهة جائحة كوفيد 19 والانتعاش.

إننا نسعى إلى مواصلة هذه المبادرة بتعيين مجموعة من اللجان الدولية الأخرى التي تعتني بجوانب أو قضايا محددة تتعلق بصون الأصول الوراثية للمحاصيل وتيسير الوصول إليها وإدارتها واستخدامها. كما سنجري أيضًا مزيدًا من التقييم للآثار المتوسطة والطويلة المدى للأزمات الحالية، مع تحديد الدروس المستفادة من التجارب المختلفة لأصحاب المصلحة لدينا، من أجل الاستعداد بشكل مناسب للأزمات المستقبلية أو الصدمات النظامية.

في الواقع، يمكننا أن نشعر ببعض الارتياح لمعرفة أن المعاهدة الدولية توفر بعض الآليات القوية التي يمكن أن تساعد على التخفيف من هذه النكسات. ومن بين الآليات القوية التي يمكننا الاعتماد عليها، هناك بنوك الجينات القطرية والدولية، والتي تعد جزءًا من نظام راسخ متعدد الأطراف للحصول على المنافع وتقاسمها ، ونظام معلومات عالمي حيوي، واحتياطي نهائي للموارد الوراثية النباتية للأغذية والزراعة في قبو البذور العالمي. ومن المتوقع أن تساعدنا هذه الهياكل في التجديد وإعادة البناء وإعادة النمو، والمساهمة في المرونة الشاملة لنظمنا الغذائية.

هذا هو سبب أهمية التعددية. وهذا هو أيضا سبب أهمية العمل معا بموجب معاهدة دولية . وتواصل المعاهدة الدولية العمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع المزارعين ومربي النباتات والعلماء لصون الموارد الوراثية النباتية للأغذية والزراعة واستخدامها على نحو مستدام وتبادلها يوميًا. وبقيامنا بذلك، فإننا نبذل قصارى جهدنا لضمان الأمن الغذائي خلال هذه الأزمة العالمية وما بعدها.

في حين أن هذه قد تكون أوقاتًا مظلمة، مليئة بالالتباس والتنبؤات المزعجة عندما يتعلق الأمر بصحتنا العامة وصحة أنظمتنا الغذائية ، فإننا جميعًا في هذا الواقع معًا. ومعا ، سنتغلب على هذه الأزمة العالمية ونعيد البناء بشكل أفضل.

ومع اقترابنا من نهاية هذا العام غير العادي، نأمل أن يكون عام 2021 خاليًا من كوفيد وسلميًا ومنتجًا. ونأمل أن يتميّز عام 2021 بالطاقة والانتعاش والحياة المتجددة. بالنيابة عن الأمانة، أود أن أكرر التزامنا بمواصلة العمل معكم لصون التنوع الوراثي للنباتات الذي تعتمد عليه البشرية في تغذيتها وصحتها.

ابقوا امنين. وابقوا بصحة جيدة. وابقوا أقوياء. وابقوا بخير.

وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام، 

كينت نادوزي Kent Nnadozie
أمين، المعاهدة الدولية بشأن الموارد الوراثية النباتية للأغذية والزراعة 

#ItAllStartsWithTheSeed #BuildBackBetter

شارك بهذه الصفحة

International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

Message from the Secretary

The International Treaty in the time of COVID-19

2020 was supposed to be a landmark year for biodiversity and the richness of life on earth. Instead, it has been overshadowed by a health crisis, death and desolation. As Spring 2020 emerged and crops readied for harvest from or planting in farmers’ fields (depending on the hemisphere), a new kind of “plague” descended upon humanity: COVID-19.

During this troubling time of physical isolation, social disconnection and uncertainty, we are reminded, once again, of just how very inter-connected and inter-dependent we really are, on both the individual and communal levels. We are also reminded of how fragile life can be and of our common vulnerability as a species.

The harsh truth is that COVID-19 is taking a toll – on human life, our food systems and on the management of the crops upon which we depend – as well as disrupting agricultural value chains and thereby posing risks to household food security. It is an accepted fact that a healthy diet must include adequate vegetables, pulses, grains and fruit. The bases for these crops and plants are precisely what the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture focuses on – seeds and other plant genetic resources for food and agriculture – and they are equally at risk because of the current situation.

In this context, the International Treaty is playing a role in assessing and responding to the potential impacts of COVID-19 on people’s lives and livelihoods, global food trade, markets and food supply chains. The International Treaty offers some valuable mechanisms that can aid in and contribute to recovery.

To measure the impact of the global pandemic, the Secretariat of the International Treaty is mobilizing resources and expertise to assess the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the management of crop germplasm, which is a fundamental asset for sustainable agricultural and resilient food systems. We started by conducting a survey that provided National Focal Points and other International Treaty stakeholders an opportunity to share information and views, identify needs and actions. Subsequently, with the support of the Kingdom of Morocco and in collaboration with the Global Crop Diversity Trust, we convened an online panel with high-level international experts. The Online Expert Panel addressed current and potential impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the conservation, management and use of plant genetic resources for food security and sustainable agriculture. In particular, the Panel discussed how to mobilize the resources and mechanisms of the International Treaty to adapt to COVID-19 realities, as well as the alignment of the International Treaty with FAO’s COVID-19 Response and Recovery Programme.

We aim to follow up on this initiative with a series of other international panels on specific aspects of or issues related to the conservation, access to, management and use of crop germplasm. We will also undertake further assessment of both the medium and longer-term impacts of the current crises, while identifying lessons learned from the various experiences of our stakeholders, in order to adequately prepare for future crises or systemic shocks.

Indeed, we can take some comfort in knowing that the International Treaty provides some solid mechanisms that can help alleviate these setbacks. Among the strong mechanisms that we can rely on are the national and international genebanks, which are part of a strong Multilateral System of Access and Benefit-sharing, a vital Global Information System, and the ultimate back-up of PGRFA in the Global Seed Vault. These structures can help us regenerate, rebuild and regrow, and contribute to the overall resilience of our food systems.

This is why Multilateralism is so important. This is why working together under one International Treaty is so important.

The International Treaty continues working hand-in-hand with farmers, plant breeders and scientists to conserve, sustainably use and exchange plant genetic resources for food and agriculture every day. In doing so, we are doing what we can to ensure food security during this global crisis and beyond.

While these may be dark times, full of uncertainty and alarming forecasts when it comes to our global health and the health of our food systems, we are all in this together. And together, we will overcome this global crisis and build back better.

As we come to an end of this unusual year, our hope is that 2021 be COVID-free, peaceful and productive. We hope 2021 will be marked by renewed energy, regeneration and life. On behalf of the Secretariat, I want to reiterate our commitment to continue working with you to conserve the plant genetic diversity upon which humanity depends for our nutrition and health.

Stay safe. Stay healthy. Stay strong. Stay well.

Yours sincerely, 

Kent Nnadozie
Secretary, International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture 

#ItAllStartsWithTheSeed #BuildBackBetter

Share this page