La résilience

FAO Regional Programme Framework for Disaster Risk Management 2010 -2013

FAO Regional Programme Framework for Disaster Risk Management 2010 -2013
Jun 2010

Each year, countries in the Eastern and Central region of Africa experience the highest number of natural hazards and people-induced disasters in all of Africa. More and more people are adversely affected by natural hazards, such as droughts and floods, as well as crop and livestock diseases, civil conflicts, unstable market conditions and volatile food prices, gender inequalities and HIV. Given the complex nature of often simultaneous and protracted crises affecting Eastern and Central region of Africa, coordinated action towards adopting a more holistic approach is needed. Such an approach would integrate disaster risk reduction into emergency response and post-disaster recovery strategies.

In line with this need, FAO has elaborated a new Strategic Framework - FAO Regional Framework for Disaster Risk Management 2010-2013: Reducing and managing disaster risk to improve food and livelihood security in Eastern and Central Africa - that will serve as the foundation for the regional disaster risk management programme (DRM) in Eastern and Central Africa. This Regional DRM Programme Framework provides an integrated approach to disaster risk reduction and DRM interventions, and acts as a platform for the development of national Plans of Action (PoAs).

Three main programme priorities are forseen for 2010-2013: (i) to enhance and promte risk reduction concepts and practices in programming; (ii) to increase the timliness and quality of emergency response to disasters, crises and threats; and (iii) to integrate transition concepts and linkages related to transforming risks into programming.

The overall objective of the Regional DRM Framework is to lessen the adverse impacts of hazards, to reduce vulnerability and to strengthen community resilience, in an effort to help the countries to become more food secure and to enable them to focus on developing sustainable food and agriculture systems. The following countries will be covered by this regional programme: Burundi, the Central African Republic (CAR), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, the Sudan/South Sudan, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda.