About IYR

United Nations General Assembly

Fifty-seventh session
Agenda item 168
International Year of Rice, 2004


Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Ecuador, Fiji, Gabon, Grenada, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Madagascar, Mali, Malaysia, the Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Vietnam and Zambia.

International Year of Rice

The General Assembly,
Recalling resolution 2/2001 of the Conference of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations,
Noting that rice is the staple food of more than half of the world's population,
Affirming the need to heighten awareness of the role of rice in alleviating poverty and malnutrition,
Reaffirming the need to focus world attention on the role that rice can play in providing food security and eradicating poverty in the attainment of the internationally agreed development goals, including those contained in the Millennium Declaration,1/

1. Decides to declare the year 2004 the International Year of Rice;
2. Invites the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to facilitate the implementation of the International Year of Rice, in collaboration with Governments, the United Nations Development Programme, the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research Centres and other relevant organizations of the United Nations system and non-governmental organizations.

1/ Adopted on 16 December 2002