Small Island Developing States



African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP)

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organization created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, also known as the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" which binds them to the European Union. There are 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.


International Union for Conservation of Nature

Founded in 1948 as the world’s first global environmental organization, IUCN demonstrates how biodiversity is fundamental to addressing some of the world’s greatest challenges such as climate change, sustainable development and food security.



SIDSnet responds to several critical challenges faced by small islands including: remoteness; isolation and geographic dispersion; poor connectivity and data management; limited human and technological capacity; and the need for greater international recognition and assistance in reducing SIDS’ economic and environmental vulnerability.


University Consortium of Small Island States

Enhances the capacity of graduate education institutions in small island states by facilitating the development of the institutional and systemic capacity needed to implement the Barbados Programme of Action.


Caribbean Community Secretariat

The objectives of the Community include improving standards of living and work; the full employment of labour and other factors of production; accelerated, coordinated and sustained economic development and convergence; expansion of trade and economic relations with third States; enhanced levels of international competitiveness; organization for increased production and productivity; achievement of a greater measure of economic leverage and effectiveness of Member States in dealing with third States, groups of States and entities of any description and the enhanced co-ordination of Member States’ foreign and foreign economic policies and enhanced functional co-operation.

Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre (CCC)

The Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre coordinates the Caribbean region’s response to climate change. Officially opened in August 2005, the Centre is the key node for information on climate change issues and on the region’s response to managing and adapting to climate change in the Caribbean.

CDEMA - Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency

CDEMA (formerly known as CDERA) will fully embrace the principles and practice of Comprehensive Disaster Management (CDM) which is an integrated and proactive approach to disaster management. CDM seeks to reduce the risk and loss associated with natural and technological hazards and the effects of climate change to enhance regional sustainable development.

Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat

In The Secretariat's mission is to ensure the effective implementation of the Leaders'decisions for the benefit of the people of the Pacific. Their goals are to stimulate economic growth and enhance political governance and security for the region, through the povision of policy advice, and to strengthen regional cooperation and integration through coordinating, monitoring and evaluating implementation of Leaders'decisions. In achieving these Goals, the Primary Roles of the Forum Secretariat, as set out in the 2005 Agreement Establishing the Pacific Islands Forum, are to provide: Policy advice and guidance in implementing the decisions of the Leaders, Coordination and assistance in implementing the decisions of the Leaders, Support to the Leaders' meetings, ministerial meetings, and associated committees and working groups.