Home > Technical Cooperation Programme > At work > Emergency TCP Projects
Technical Cooperation Programme

Emergency TCP Projects

Emergency TCP projects support an immediate response to a disaster and early rehabilitation measures to help affected communities quickly resume food production and livelihood activities. The response should be adequate, taking into consideration agricultural cycles and ensuring that the required assistance reaches the beneficiaries in time.

Disaster preparedness, prevention, mitigation and longer-term rehabilitation are funded through the regional TCP allocation and follow the same approval process as the development TCP projects.

Who is eligible for emergency TCP assistance?

All FAO member countries, including high-income countries, are eligible for emergency TCP assistance on a full-grant basis.

When an emergency occurs and support is requested, emergency TCP assistance may be provided to allow on-the-spot disaster needs assessment, and assist, if required, the government in drawing up a plan of action for immediate assistance.

Assistance can be in the form of expert advice together with equipment, supplies and support services to help affected households begin producing food and engaging in related livelihood activities again.

Who should receive the request for emergency TCP assistance? 

Requests for emergency TCP assistance must be addressed to and channelled through the head of the relevant FAO decentralized office responsible for liaison with the country or organization concerned (FAO Representative, Subregional Coordinator or Assistant Director-General/Regional Representative). A request can also be addressed directly to the Director-General or the Assistant Director-General, Technical Cooperation.

There are three exceptions:

  • When the Director-General of FAO declares a corporate Level 3 emergency, the required government request is waived and special procedures apply.
  • For subregional and regional emergency TCP projects, requests from three governments from the subregion or region are sufficient to trigger wider regional action, in particular in the neighbouring countries if these are affected by the same emergency.
  • For interregional emergency TCP assistance, three requests, with at least one from each participating region, are required.