Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Plant Production and Protection

Title Standards Committee
Code AGD-728
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Standards Committee

Legal Framework

The Standards Committee of the CPM replaced in 2006 the Standards Committe of the ICPM active from 2002 to 2006. See Terms of Reference

Before this, the Committee of Experts on Phytosanitary Measures (from 1994 to 1999) and the Interim Standards Committee (from 2000 to 2001) served as interim measures.

Rules of Procedure

Adopted by the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures in 2006, amended in 2013. RULES OF PROCEDURE

Category Cat. 3

The Standards Committee manages the standard-setting process and assists in the development of International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures (ISPMs) which have been identified by the CPM as priority standards. The main objective of the SC is to prepare draft ISPMs according to the standard-setting procedures in the most expeditious manner for adoption by the CPM.


The Standards Committee consists of 25 members drawn from each of the 7 FAO regions. The distribution for each region is: Africa (4), Asia (4), Europe (4), Latin America and the Caribbean (4), Near East (4), North America (2) and Southwest Pacific (3).

Number of Members 25
Languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol SC
Frequency of Sessions At least one session per year
Division Plant Production and Protection Division (AGP)
Contact information/email

Web site

Standards Committee

First Session 2006 as Standards Committee of the CPM.

Subsidiary Body of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM)