Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

European Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture Advisory Commission (EIFAAC) (FI-727)

Title European Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture Advisory Commission (EIFAAC)
Code FI-727
Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI.1


Established by the Council at its 26th Session (1957, Resolution 2/26). Name and Statutes of the Commission were changed in 2010 (Resolution 3/140).



Rules of Procedure

RULES OF PROCEDURE adopted by the Commission in 2011.

Category Cat. 1
  • To promote the sustainable development, utilization, conservation, management, protection and restoration of European inland fisheries and aquaculture resources, including commercial and recreational fisheries and aquaculture, based on the best available scientific advice and the application of an ecosystem approach, the precautionary approach and the need to safeguard biodiversity;
  • to identify and address strategic issues for European inland fisheries and aquaculture and provide advice and recommendations on future policies, measures and related actions needed to address the issues in a rapid and accountable manner as requested by Members;
  • to provide advice to managers/decision makers of inland fisheries and aquaculture as requested based on scientific, social, economic, legal and other factors;
  • to serve as a forward-looking international platform for the collation, validation, dissemination and consideration of information on common challenges and opportunities to European inland fisheries and aquaculture, and to this end, inter alia, proactively identify:
    - relevant scientific, social, economic, legal, statistical and other information and make recommendations for decision makers, taking into account the need to protect and preserve the aquatic ecosystems; and

    - common problems and solutions, and harmonized approaches as appropriate.
Secretary Ms Victoria Chomo

Open to all Members in the European Region.

Number of Members 34
List of Members
  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • European Union (Member Organization)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Languages English and French
Frequency of Sessions Normally one session per biennium
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

European Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture Advisory Commission

First Session April 1960