Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

European Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (EuFMD) (AGA-701)

Title European Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (EuFMD)
Code AGA-701
Next Session

View upcoming meetings

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article XIV


Established upon approval by the Conference at its Seventh Session (1953, Resolution 33/53) of the Commission's Constitution, which came into force on 12 June 1954.

Constitution amended at the Ninth (1962), 20th (1973), 22nd (1977), 28th (1989) and 32nd Sessions of the Commission and subsequently approved by the 39th (1962, Resolution 3/39), 61st (1973, Resolution 5/61), 72nd (1977, Resolution 5/72), 96th (1989, Resolution 2/96) and 113th (1997) Sessions of the Council, respectively.

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the Second Session (1955); amended at the Ninth (1962), 11th (1964), 20th (1973), 28th (1989) and 32nd (1997) Sessions.

Category Cat. 1

To promote and coordinate national and international action for the prevention and control of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) in Europe.

Secretary Mr Keith Sumption, Executive Secretary

Open to such European Member Nations of FAO and to such European Members of the International Office of Epizootics that are Members of the United Nations as accept the Constitution of the Commission in accordance with Article XV thereof. Other European States that are Members of the United Nations, any of its Specialized Agencies or the International Atomic Energy Agency may be admitted as Members by a two-thirds majority of the Commission's Membership. Membership entails the obligation of contributing to the Commission's budget in accordance with a scale of contributions determined by the Commission.

Number of Members 39
List of Members
  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Languages English and French
Document symbol EuFMD
Frequency of Sessions Annual up to and including 1973, then biennial.
Division Animal Production and Health Division (AGA)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

European Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease

First Session July 1954
Subsidiary Bodies

The Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease has the possibility to establish, "temporary, special or standing committees to study and report on matters pertaining to the purpose of the Commission".


An eight-member Executive Committee with one Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen - elected by the Commission at the General Session - governs the Commission between the Sessions.