Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission (WECAFC) (FI-739)

Title Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission (WECAFC)
Code FI-739
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission

Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article VI-1


Established by the Council at its Sixty-first Session (1973, Resolution 4/61).

Rules of Procedure

Adopted at the First Session (1975). Amended at the Second Session (1978) and by the Hundred and Thirty-first Session of the FAO Council (2006).

Category Cat. 1

To assist in international cooperation efforts for the conservation, development and utilization of living resources, especially shrimp, of the Western Central Atlantic.


Open to all Member Nations and Associate Members, which notify the Director-General of their desire to be considered as Members.

Number of Members 33
List of Members
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • European Union (Member Organization)
  • France
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Republic of Korea
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Spain
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Languages English, French and Spanish
Document symbol WECAFC
Division Subregional Office for the Caribbean (FAO-SLC)
Contact information/email

Web site

Western Central Atlantic Fishery Commission

First Session October 1975
Pattern of sessions 1975, 1978, 1980, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1990, 1995, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2008
Subsidiary Bodies