Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Standards Committee (AGD-728)

Title Standards Committee
Code AGD-728
Sessions and documents

View documents of the Standards Committee

Legal Framework

The Standards Committee of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) replaced in 2006 the Standards Committee of the ICPM which had been active from 2002 to 2006. See Terms of Reference

Before this, the Committee of Experts on Phytosanitary Measures (from 1994 to 1999) and the Interim Standards Committee (from 2000 to 2001) served as interim measures.

The CPM is the governing body of the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC).

Rules of Procedure

Adopted by the CPM in 2006, amended in 2013 and 2016. RULES OF PROCEDURE

Category Cat. 3

The Standards Committee manages the IPPC Standard-setting procedure for the development of International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures (ISPMs) which have been identified and prioritized by the CPM. The main objective of the SC is to prepare draft ISPMs according to the standard-setting procedures in the most expeditious manner for adoption by the CPM.


The SC consists of 25 members from each of the seven FAO regions: four members each from Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Near East; two from North America; and three from Southwest Pacific.

Number of Members 25
Languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol SC
Frequency of Sessions The SC meets in April / May and November of each year
Division International Plant Protection Convention (AGDI)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Standards Committee

First Session 2006 as Standards Committee of the CPM.

Subsidiary Body of the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM)