Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Committee on Commodity Problems (EST-701)

Previous Sessions and documents CCP - 72nd Session - September 2018
CCP - 71st Session - October 2016
See more...
Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article V


Established by the Conference at its Fifth Session (1949) to work under the supervision of and be responsible to the Council. By decision of the Conference at its Ninth Session (1957), it became a Committee of the Council.

Rules of Procedure

Revised rules were adopted at the Forty-seventh Session (1972) and amended at the Fifty-first (1977), Sixty-ninth (2012) and Seventieth (2014) Sessions.
See Basic Texts, Vol. 1 - Section H, Rules of Procedure of the Committee on Commodity Problems

Category Cat.1

The terms of reference of the Committee as laid down in Rule XXIX of the General Rules of the Organization include the following:

  • To keep commodity problems of an international character affecting production, trade, distribution and consumption, and related economic matters under review;
  • To prepare a factual and interpretative survey of the world commodity situation, which would be made available directly to Member Nations; and
  • To report and submit suggestions to the Council on policy issues arising out of its deliberations, and to avail these reports and those of its Subsidiary Bodies to Member Nations for their information.
Secretary Mr Boubaker Ben Belhassen, EST

Open to all Members which notify the Director-General in writing of their desire to become Members of the Committee and of their intention to participate in its work. The notification may be made at any time but not later than 10 days before the opening date of a session. Membership acquired on this basis shall be considered valid unless the Member has not been represented at two consecutive sessions of the Committee, or has notified its withdrawal from it.

Chairperson Mr Gustaf Daud Sirait (Indonesia)
Number of Members 104
List of Members
  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bangladesh
  • Belgium
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • European Union (Member Organization)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Korea
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Languages Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol CCP
Frequency of Sessions

Normally one session per biennium. If required, the Committee may hold additional sessions (Rule XXIX.4 and 5, GRO).

Division Trade and Markets Division (EST)
Contact information/email

[email protected]

Web site

Committee on Commodity Problems

First Session January 1950
Subsidiary Bodies