Governing and Statutory Bodies Web site

Finance Committee (CC-704)

Previous Sessions and documents FC - 162nd Session - 23-25 May 2016
FC - 161st Session - 16-20 May 2016
FC - 160th Session - 2-6 November 2015
FC - 159th Session - 26-27 October 2015
FC - 158th Session - 11-13 May 2015
See more...
Legal Framework
Article of Constitution

Article V


Established as the "Committee on Financial Control" (CFC) by a Resolution of the Conference at its Third Session (1947) as successor to the Sub-Committee on Finance. In 1958, the name was changed to Finance Committee. Its size and structure were modified by the Conference at its Thirty-sixth Session in 2009 (Resolution 6/2009, C 2009/REP, para. 140).

Rules of Procedure

See Basic Texts, Vol. I - Section F, Rules of Procedure of the Finance Committee

Category Cat.1

To assist the Council in exercising control over the financial administration of the Organization. Its functions are set out in Rule XXVII of the General Rules of the Organization. The Finance Committee holds concurrent sessions with the Programme Committee during the second year of the biennium (Rule XXVIII of the General Rules of the Organization), and sometimes also in the first year.

Secretary Mr David McSherry

Representatives of 12 Member Nations and a Chairperson elected by the Council from specific regions as determined by the Conference for the purpose of Council elections. Members of the Committee shall appoint as their representatives individuals who have shown a continued interest in the objectives and activities of the Organization, have participated in Conference or Council sessions and have special competence and experience in administrative and financial matters. Members of the Committee are elected for a period of two years at the session of the Council following the regular session of the Conference and they are eligible for reappointment.

Chairperson Mr Khalid Mehboob (Pakistan)

Angola (Mr Carlos Alberto Amaral)
Australia (Mr Matthew Worrell)
Brazil (Mr Antonio Otávio Sá Ricarte)
China (Mr Niu Dun) *
Egypt (Mr Khaled El Taweel)
Equatorial Guinea (Mr Crisantos Obama Ondo)
Germany (Mr Heiner Thofern) **
Philippines (Mr Lupino Lazaro Jr.)
Russian Federation (Mr Vladimir Kuznetsov)
Sudan (Ms Abla Malik Osman)
Trinidad and Tobago (Mr John Sandy)
United States of America (Ms Natalie Brown)***


* During the 162nd Session Mr Xie Jianmin will replace Mr Niu Dun.
** During the 162nd Session Ms Hannah Laubenthal will replace Mr Heiner Thofern.
*** During the 162nd Session Ms Elizabeth Patrovski will replace Ms Natalie Brown.

Substitute Representatives

View list

Current term of office June 2015 - July 2017 (157th Session of Council)
Languages (used during the current mandate) Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish
Document symbol FC
Frequency of Sessions At least twice a year
Division Finance Division (CSF)
Contact information/email

First Session Committee on Financial Control, December 1947; Finance Committee, March 1958.