Steering Committee

The process to establish the World Banana Forum (WBF) was led by a group of  representatives from banana grower organizations, exporter associations, multinational and national trading companies, trade unions, supermarket chains, intergovernmental organizations, research institutions and non-governmental organizations. This group formed a Preparatory Committee which made possible the establishment of the WBF by organizing the needed preparatory meetings and the WBF inaugural meeting in December 2009.

The banana stakeholders agreed to nominate a group of representatives which is in charge of coordinating the ongoing work of the World Banana Forum and its Working Groups. This group is the Steering Committee.

Everyone can join the Steering Committee provided that they have sufficient time and willingness to support actively this Forum. The balance between the different groups has been a priority since this group was initially formed.

These are the members of the current Steering Committee (in effect since August 2018):

  • Adwoa Sakyi (International Union of Food, Agricultural, Hotel, Restaurant, Catering, Tobacco and AlliedWorkers' Association (IUF))
  • Alex Yeboah-Afari (Volta River Estates Limited)
  • Alistair Smith (EUROBAN)
  • Alvaro González de Cossío (Delegation of the Government of the Canaries in Brussels)
  • Andrew Biles (Chiquita)
  • Anna Cooper (Banana Link)
  • Bernhard Roehrs (AgroAmerica)
  • Chaise Pensini (Nutrano)
  • Christelle Lasme (Compagnie Fruitière)
  • Clément Jaubertie (French Ministry of Agriculture)
  • Edgar Monge (Tesco)
  • Enrique Uribe (GLOBALG.A.P)
  • Felix Barria (Permanent Mission of Panama in Rome)
  • Florian Schäfer  (REWE Group)
  • Florian Schütze (LIDL)
  • Gerrit Haatje Jan Kema  (Wageningen University)
  • Gustavo Gandini (BANELINO)
  • Hernan Manson (International Trade Center)
  • Ian Harrison (International Procurement and Logistics (IPL) Limited)
  • Iris Munguia (Coordinating Body of Latin American Banana and Agro-industrial Unions (COLSIBA))
  • Jan t' Lam (Rainforest Alliance)
  • Jeroen Kroezen (Solidaridad)
  • Jon Tugwell (Fyffes)
  • José Francisco Zúñiga Cotes (Asbama)
  • Kahlil Apuzen-Ito (The Foundation for Agrarian Reform Cooperatives in Mindanao (FARMCOOP))
  • Kerde M. Severin (Saint Lucia's Ministry of Agriculture)
  • Leonela Santana-Boado (The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD))
  • Luis Fernando Ceciliano (Mission of Costa Rica to the United Nations)
  • Luud Clercx (Agrofair)
  • Magne Svartbekk (Bama Gruppen)
  • Mario Arvelo (Permanent Mission of the Dominican Republic in Rome)
  • Miguel Dita (Bioversity Costa Rica)
  • Morag Webb (Comité de liaison Europe-Afrique-Caraïbes-Pacifique (COLEACP))
  • Renwick Rose (Windward Islands Farmers Association (WINFA))
  • Silvia Campos  (Fairtrade International)
  • Xavier Roussel (DOLE)