Home > World Banana Forum > Working groups > Distribution of Value

Distribution of Value (WG02)

The Working Group 02 deals with Distribution of Value. This group seeks to work towards a fair distribution of value along the whole banana chain.

Objectives of the Working Group are to: 

  • Identify the key actors at all stages of the supply chain
  • Agree on a typology of the different supply chains in the global industry
  • Prioritise what information we need to gather in order to work towards fair distribution of value (eg. labour costs, FOB, CIF and retail prices)
  • Map the distribution of value in key supply chains (a representative selection of origins and markets)
  • Evaluate prices and costs along the chain
  • Agree on a practical methodology for approximating "living" or "decent" wages at plantation/farm level
  • Pilot this methodology in at least two countries
  • Explore the feasibility of various approaches to the redistribution of value in the chain
  • Exchange relevant information with other WGs of the WBF and externally

In order to make concrete progress on the above objectives, the core group also agreed to commission a base study into the methodologies available for implementing living wages in Latin American banana production.

This study, co-funded by corporate and civil society members of the core group, was made available to the participants during the meeting in Ecuador and it is available here.

Every stakeholder of the banana industry can speak in our Forum! If you are interested to join this group, please send us a motivated email to: wbf@fao.org and we will immediately forward your communication to the coordinators of this WG.

Coordinators of WG02:

  • Alistair Smith (BANANA LINK/EUROBAN)
  • Hugo Hays (FYFFES)
  • Xavier Roussel (DOLE)
  • José Paredes, Ricardo Guimaraes & Wilbert Flinterman (Fairtrade International)
  • Helge Fischer (BANAFAIR)
  • Bernardo Rohers (AgroAmerica)
  • Katie Knaggs (IPL/ASDA)
  • Ernesto Montoya (Chiquita)
  • Michelle Bhattacharyya (Global Living Wage Coalition)
  • Jessica Grillo & Jan Tlan (Rainforest Alliance)
  • Jhon Jairo Gallego & Marco Tulio Calvo (AUGURA)
  • Edgar Monge & Peter Stedman (TESCO)
  • Denis Loeillet & Carolina Dawson (CIRAD)
  • Gilbert Bermúdez Umaña (COLSIBA)
  • Pedro Vásquez (BANAVID)