

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations



World Health Organization

JOINT FAO/WHO EXPERT COMMITTEE ON FOOD ADDITIVES (JECFA)

FAO Roster of experts for JECFA for food additives, contaminants and natural toxicants

(2007 - 2011)

The Committee

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) is an international expert scientific committee that is administered jointly by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO). It has been meeting since 1956, initially to evaluate the safety of food additives. Its work now also includes the evaluation of contaminants, naturally occurring toxicants and residues of veterinary drugs in food.

JECFA normally meets twice a year with individual agendas covering either (i) food additives, contaminants and naturally occurring toxicants in food or (ii) residues of veterinary drugs in food. The membership of the meetings varies accordingly, with different sets of experts being called on depending on the subject matter.

Selection of experts and membership of the Committee

FAO and WHO have complementary functions in selecting experts to serve on the Committee. FAO is responsible for selecting members with chemical expertise for the development of specifications for the identity and purity of food additives, for the assessment of residue levels of veterinary drugs in food, and to assess the quality of monitoring data for contaminants and factors influencing their occurrence in foods. WHO is responsible for selecting members for the toxicological evaluations of the substances under consideration, in order to establish acceptable daily intakes (ADIs), or other relevant guidance values, or to give a quantitative estimate of the health risk. Both FAO and WHO invite members who are responsible for assessing exposure.

Both organizations establish listings of experts, called *rosters*; appointments are for a period of five years. Experts are selected from those rosters for each meeting, in which capacity they either attend the meeting as members or assist the Secretariat with preparatory work before the meeting and usually participate in the meeting itself. The selection of members for each meeting is made after a careful consideration of the scientific credentials of the various candidates, and a balance of scientific expertise and other experience that is considered essential considering the items on the agenda of the meeting.

Being a joint committee of FAO and WHO, the organizational framework of JECFA complies with the rules of both organizations. The selection process for experts is undertaken in mutual consultation by the Joint Secretariats. When calling for and selecting experts, FAO and WHO assure that selections complement each other. The selection process respects as well FAO and WHO policies on regional representation and gender balance.

FAO Joint Secretariat to JECFA 5.11.2009

FAO Roster of experts for the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA)

- Food additives, contaminants and natural toxicants - (2007 - 2011)

Prof Gabriel Olaniran Adegoke	University of Ibadan, Ibadan	Nigeria
Prof Kofi Edirisah Aidoo	Glasgow Caledonian University, Glasgow	United Kingdom
Dr Sanjeev K. Anand	South Dakota State University, Brookings SD	United States of America
Dr Ramesh V. Bhat	Centre for Science, Society and Culture, Hyderabad	India
Dr Richard C. Cantrill	American Oil Chemists' Society (AOCS), Champaign IL	United States of America
Dr Vicenta Ángela Devesa i Pérez	Instituto de Agroquímica y Tecnología de los Alimentos, Burjassot (Valencia)	Spain
Dr Lucia Regina Durrant	Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Campinas	Brazil
Prof John M. Duxbury	Cornell University, Ithaka	United States of America
Dr John Alexander Edgar	Consultant, Mosman, New South Wales	Australia
Mr Hans Peter van Egmond	National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RIVM), Bilthoven	The Netherlands
Dr Cristopher E. Fisher	Consultant, Cambridge	United Kingdom
Dr Daniel E. Folmer	US Food and Drug Administration, College Park, MD	United States of America
Dr Maria B. Abreu Glória	Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte	Brazil
Dr Thierry Guérin	Agence Française de Sécurité Sanitaire des Aliments (AFSSA), Maisons-Alfort	France
Dr Karl-Erik Hellenäs	National Food Administration, Uppsala	Sweden
Dr Yoko Kawamura	National Institute of Health Sciences, Tokyo	Japan
Dr Kafui Akuwa Kpodo	Food Research Institute, Accra	Ghana
Dr Keith A. Lampel	US Food and Drug Administration, College Park, MD	United States of America
Prof Symon Maina Mahungu	Egerton University, Njoro	Kenya
Dr Inge Meyland	National Food Institute, Søborg	Denmark
Dr Rosa Montoro Martínez	Instituto de Agroquímica y Tecnología de los Alimentos, Burjassot (Valencia)	Spain
Dr Zofia S. Olemska-Beer	US Food and Drug Administration, College Park, MD	United States of America
Dr Monica Olsen	National Food Administration, Uppsala	Sweden

FAO Joint Secretariat to JECFA 5.11.2009

Prof Timothy D. Phillips	Texas A&M University, College Station, TX	United States of America
Dr Madduri Veerabhadra Rao	U.A.E. University Al Ain	United Arab Emirates
Dr Vemula Sudershan Rao	National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad	India
Dr Susanne Rath	Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Campinas	Brazil
Prof Silvia Liliana Resnik	Facultad de Ciencias Exactas y Naturales, Ciudad Universitaria, Buenos Aires	Argentina
Dr Sushil Kumar Saxena	National Dairy Development Board, Anand, Gujarat	India
Dr Vinod Pravin Sharma	Industrial Toxicology Research Centre, Lucknow	India
Dr Gordon Seymour Shephard	South African Medical Research Council, Tygerberg	South Africa
Dr Peter Šimko	Food Research Institute, Bratislava	Slovakia
Dr James Smith	Prince Edward Island Food Technology Centre, Charlottetown	Canada
Dr Sladana Šobajić	Institute of Bromatology, Faculty of Pharmacy, Belgrade	Serbia
Prof Ivan Stankovic	Institute of Bromatology, Faculty of Pharmacy, Belgrade	Serbia
Prof Maria Cecilia de Figueiredo Toledo	Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Campinas	Brazil
Prof Lucia Valente Soares	Retired, Campinas	Brazil
Dr Siriguri Vasanthi	National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad	India
Mrs Harriet Cecilia Wallin	National Food Safety Authority, Helsinki	Finland
Dr Donald Brian Whitehouse	Consultant, Bowdon, Cheshire	United Kingdom
Dr Terry Vrabcheva	National Center for Public Health Protection, Sofia	Bulgaria
Prof Yongning Wu	National institue of Nutrition and Food Safety, China Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Beijing	China
Dr Daniel Alberto Wunderlin	Universidad National de Córdoba, Córdoba	Argentina
Dr Hassan Yazdanpanah	Shaheed Beheshti University of Medical Sciences and Health Services, Tehran	I.R. Iran

FAO Joint Secretariat to JECFA 5.11.2009