## Composition of the Steering Committee (SC) for the FAO Global Conference on Sustainable Plant Production (GPC)

Name	Role in SC	Title and Institution	Email	Notes
Beth Bechdol	Chair	Deputy Director General, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Beth.Bechdol@fao.org DDG-Bechdol@fao.org	https://www.fao.org/about /leadership/Beth-Bechdol
Martin Kropff	Co-Chair	Global Director, Resilient Agrifood Systems (RAFS), CGIAR	<u>m.kropff@cgiar.org</u> Focal Point: Roberto Rocha Correa, (CIMMYT, GCIAR) <u>r.rocha@cgiar.org</u>	https://www.cgiar.org/mar tin-kropff/ Keynote speech on: Agrifood system transformation
Alzbeta Klein	Vice- Chair	Director General, International Fertilizer Association (IFA)	aklein@fertilizer.org	Keynote speech on: Fertilizers related (MoU with FAO)
Josse De Baerdemaeker	Vice- Chair	Professor, Department of Biosystems, KU Leuven	josse.debaerdemaeker@kuleuven.be	Keynote speech on: Mechanization and digitalization
Michael Keller	Vice- Chair	Secretary General, International Seed Federation (ISF)	m.keller@worldseed.org	Keynote speech on: Seeds related
Sunday Ekesi	Vice Chair	Head of Capacity Building and Integrated Sciences, International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology ( <i>icipe</i> )	sekesi@icipe.org	Keynote speech on: Pests related
Xiangzhao Gao	Vice- Chair	Professor and Chief Scientist, National Agro-Technical Center (NATESC), Chinese Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs (MARA), P.R. China	XzGao@agri.gov.cn XzGao@qq.com	Keynote speech on: Green technology for crop production
Marcela Quintero	Vice- Chair	Leader CGIAR Agroecology Initiative: Transforming Food, Land and Water Systems Across the Global South, Director Multifunctional Landscapes, Alliance Bioversity – CIAT, CGIAR	m.quintero@cgiar.org	Keynote speech on: Integrated approach and agroecology
Ana María Loboguerrero Rodríguez	Vice- Chair	Research Director of Climate Action, Alliance of Bioversity International and International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), CGIAR	a.m.loboguerrero@cgiar.org	Keynote speech on: Resilience and climate change
Niels Louwaars	Member	Director, Plantum	n.louwaars@plantum.nl	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Seed Systems Session
Jon Hellin	Member	Platform Leader, Sustainable Impact through Rice-Based Systems, International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), CGIAR	j.hellin@irri.org	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Field Cropping Systems Session
Yüksel Tüzel	Member	Professor, Ege University, Türkiye ; Former President, International Society for	<u>yuksel.tuzel@ege.edu.tr</u> Alternate :	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Protected

(Updated on 27 September 2022)

Name	Role in SC	Title and Institution	Email	Notes
		Horticultural Science (2018- 2022)	Peter Vanderborght, CEO (ISHS) peter.vanderborght@ishs.org	Cropping Systems Session
Graciela Metternicht	Member	Professor, University of New South Wales, Sydney (UNSW)	g.metternicht@unsw.edu.au	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Natural Resource Management Session
Robert Bertram	Member	Chief Scientist, United States Agency for International Development (USAID)	rbertram@usaid.gov	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Integrated Pest Management Session
Geoffrey Mrema	Member	Professor, Agricultural Engineering, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania	geoffmrema@yahoo.co.uk geoffmrema@gmail.com	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Mechanization and Digitalization Session
Channing Arndt	Member	Director, Environment and Production Technology, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), CGIAR	<u>c.arndt@cgiar.org</u>	TAP Vice-Chair; Chair of Farmers and Policy Session
Elizabeth Nsimadala	Member	Director, Women Affairs, Pan Africa Farmers Organization (PAFO). Ex-President, PAFO. President, Eastern Africa Farmers Federation (EAFF)	elizabethnsima@gmail.com	TAP member; Co- Chair of Farmers and Policy Session
Robert Delve	Member	Lead Global Technical Advisor – Agronomy, Sustainable Production, Markets and Institutions Division, Strategy and Knowledge Department, International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)	r.delve@ifad.org	Resource Mobilization and scaling of recommendations
William R. Sutton	Member	Global Lead Climate-Smart Agriculture (CSA) and Lead Agricultural Economist, The World Bank	wsutton@worldbank.org	Resource Mobilization and scaling of recommendations
Jerome Bandry	Member	Secretary General, European Agricultural Machinery Association (CEMA)	jerome.bandry@cema-agri.org	Private Sector, Machinery and digitalization innovations (MoU with FAO)
Sayed Azam Ali	Member	CEO, Crops for the Future (CFF)	sayedaa4135@gmail.com sayed@cropsforthefutureuk.org	Opinion leader, Research and development
Lifeng Li	Member	Director, Land and Water Division (NSL), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Lifeng.Li@fao.org NSL-Director@fao.org	
Marcela Villarreal	Member	Director, Partnerships and UN Collaboration Division (PSU), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Marcela.Villarreal@fao.org <u>PSU-Director@fao.org</u> Alternate:	

Name	Role in SC	Title and Institution	Email	Notes
			Fatouma Seid, Deputy Director (PSU) <u>Fatouma.Seid@fao.org</u>	
Qu Liang	Member	Director, Joint FAO/IAEA Centre (Nuclear Techniques in Food and Agriculture) (CJN), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Qu.Liang@fao.org CJN-Director@fao.org	
Zitouni Ould Dada	Member	Deputy Director, Office of Climate Change, Biodiversity and Environment (OCB), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Zitouni.Ould-Dada@fao.org Represents Eduardo Mansour, Director, OCB, FAO <u>Eduardo.Mansour@fao.org</u> <u>OCB-Director@fao.org</u>	Focal point to support OCB Director and leader for FAO's work stream on Climate Change
Jingyuan Xia	Executiv e Secretary	Director, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Jingyuan.Xia@fao.org NSP-Director@fao.org	Executive Secretary has oversight of all GPC related issues