



AGENDA

Joint Briefing of the Steering
Committee, Technical
Committee, Working Group on
Resource Mobilization on
Implementation of the FAO
Global Action
for Fall Armyworm (FAW) Control

1 DECEMBER 2022

FAW Secretariat, Global Action for FAW Control

	AGENDA ITEMS	DOCUMENTS	PRESENTER	TIME (MIN.)
1	Opening of the Meeting		QU Dongyu, Director-General, FAO	10
2	Adoption of the Agenda		Beth BECHDOL, Deputy-Director General, FAO	5
3	Progress and Achievements for Implementation of FAO GA for FAW Control	Video presentation		10
4	Progress and Achievements for Implementation of FAO GA for FAW Control	Presentation (PPT)	Jingyuan XIA, Director, NSP, FAO	10
5	Progress and Achievements for Technical Support to FAO GA for FAW Control	PPT	Robert BERTRAM, Chief Scientist, USAID	10
6	Core Activities for Implementation of FAO GA for FAW Control in 2023	PPT	Buyung HADI, Agricultural Officer (IPM), NSP, FAO	5
7	General Discussion: the Way Forward		Beth BECHDOL, Deputy Director-General	30
8	Closing Remarks		Beth BECHDOL, Deputy Director-General	10

List of Participants

	Name, Last name	Organization name, Address
1.	Dr QU Dongyu, SC Chair	FAO Director-General
2.	Ms Beth Bechdol, SC Co-Chair, WGRM Chair	FAO Deputy Director-General
3.	Mr Luis Augusto Becerra Lopez-Lavalle (Observer)	Chief Scientist, International Center for Biosaline Agriculture (ICBA)
4.	Mr Robert Bertram, SC Vice- Chair, Chair of the Technical Committee	Chief Scientist, United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Washington, D.C., United States of America
5.	Ms Isabel Calderon (Observer)	Economic affairs officer, Agriculture and Commodities Division of the World Trade Organization (WTO)
6.	Ms Regina Eddy (Observer)	Coordinator, Interagency Task Force on FAW, USAID
7.	Mr Neil Fourie (Observer)	First Secretary and Agriculture Attaché UK Representative Rome at Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO)
8.	Mr Rhett Harrison, TC Member	Tropical forest ecologist and conservation biologist with the Center for International Forestry Research-World Agroforestry (CIFOR-ICRAF)
9.	Mr Neil Hausmann, SC Member, WGRM Member	Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
10.	Mr Robert Hunter, TC Member, WGRM Member	Interim President and CEO, Crop Life International, Brussels, Belgium
11.	Mr Are Izquierdo Skjær (Representing H.E Morten Von Hanno Aasland, [Observer])	Representing Ambassador of Norway to FAO
12.	Mr Paul Jepson, TC Member	Professor (retired), Oregon State University, Corvallis, United States of America
13.	Mr Alexander Jones, WG RM	Director, Resource Mobilization and Private Sector Partnerships Division (PSR)

14.	Mr B.M. Prasanna, TC Member	Director, Global Maize Programme and the CGIAR Research Programme on Maize, International Maize and Wheat improvement Center (CIMMYT), Mexico
15.	Mr Darrell Sexstone (Observer)	Policy Officer, European Commission (EC - INTPA)
16.	Ms Anne Wetlesen (Observer)	Senior Adviser, Department for Climate and Environment Section for Food, Norad
17.	Ms Frances Williams	Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International (CABI)
18.	Mr Kenneth Wilson, TC Member	Professor, Lancaster University, United Kingdom
19.	Mr Kongming WU, SC Vice-Chair	President, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)
20.	Mr Jingyuan Xia, SC Member	Director, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP) and Executive Secretary of the FAW Secretariat
		Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
21.	Mr Shoki AlDobai	Senior Agricultural Officer, Team Leader, Locusts and Transboundary Plant Pests and Diseases Team (NSP MD)
22.	Ms Valeria Awad	Office Assistant, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
23.	Mr Jean Bahama	Plant Production and Protection Officer, Regional Office Africa (FAORAF)
24.	Ms Alessandra Benedetti	FAO Photo Library
25.	Mr Henry Burgsteden	Coordinator, Office of Director-General (ODG)
26.	Ms Sandra Cordon	Communications Consultant, FAW Secretariat, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
27.	Ms Francesca Epis	Office Assistant, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
28.	Mr Yubak Dhoj GC	Senior Agriculture Officer, Regional Office for Asia Pacific (FAORAP)
29.	Ms Ariella Glinni	Senior Technical Officer, Office of Deputy Director-General Bechdol (DDCB)

30.	Mr Buyung Hadi	Agricultural Officer, FAW Secretariat, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
31.	Mr Abebe HaileGabriel	ADG/Regional Representative Regional Office Africa (FAORAF)
32.	Ms Xiaoruo Jiang	Coordinator, Office of Director-General (ODG)
33.	Mr Matthew Keil	Coordinator, Office of Director-General (ODG)
34.	Mr Haekoo Kim	Technical Adviser, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
35.	Mr Godfrey Magwenzi	Director of Cabinet, Office of the Director- General (ODG)
36.	Ms Rosanne Marchesich	Senior Emergency and Rehabilitation Officer, Office of Emergencies and Resilience (OER)
37.	Mr Francis Markus	Communications Consultant, OCCM
38.	Ms Gabriella Piacentini	Special Assistant, Office of Director-General (ODG)
39.	Ms Dina Rahman	Senior Coordinator, Office of Director- General (ODG)
40.	Mr Selvaraju Ramasamy	Senior Agricultural Officer, Office of Innovation Research and Extension Unit (OINR)
41.	Mr Jiaoqun Shi	Special Adviser, Regional Office for Asia Pacific (FAORAP)
42.	Ms Katarina Spisiakova	Programme Assistant, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
43.	Mr Ibuki Takanishi	Agricultural Officer, Regional Office for Asia Pacific (FAORAP)
44.	Ms Svetlana Velmeskina	Office Assistant, FAW Secretariat, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
45.	Ms Verena Wilke	Programme Specialist, Plant Production and Protection Division (NSP)
46.	Mr Anping Ye	Director, South-South and Triangular Cooperation Division (PST)