

First meeting of the Task Force for the Five Years of Action for the Development of Mountain Regions

Summary report 5 April 2023, 14.00-15.00 – Zoom meeting

Agenda

- Opening and background
- Tour de table
- Discussion on the process
- Next steps
- Closing

Opening and background

Rosalaura Romeo, Interim Coordinator of the Mountain Partnership Secretariat (MPS) at the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), opened the meeting, welcoming the participants and thanking them for attending.

Antje Grawe, United Nations Resident Coordinator in Kyrgyzstan, congratulated the Government of Kyrgyzstan on its successful advocacy efforts for the adoption of 2023 – 2027 as Five Years of Action for the Development of Mountain Regions. She thanked the Mountain Partnership Secretariat for supporting the next steps in developing a global plan of action, to be followed by more specific regional/national plans.

Nurlan Aitmurzaev, Special Envoy of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic for mountains, underlined the need to define a clear vision and common goal for what is to be achieved within the Five Years of Action.

Tour de table

See the full list of meeting participants in Annex 1.

Discussion on the process

Rosalaura Romeo, MPS, gave a brief presentation on the history of the international mountain agenda, the Mountain Partnership, the International Year of Sustainable Mountain Development 2022, and the Five Years of Action for the Development of Mountain Region. She proposed that a working group be formed to prepare a first draft of the mandate, Terms

of Reference, strategy and timeline for the Plan of Action to be then shared with all the members of the Task Force.

Tim Scott of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) highlighted the need to consider the other relevant entry points such as the Collaborative Partnership on Forests, the United Nations Forum on Forests, and the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) Summit.

Matthias Jurek of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) underlined the need to ensure transparency and inclusivity in the development of the Action Plan, involving the greater membership of the Mountain Partnership as well as the Mountain Partnership Steering Committee. He also urged that the plan consider the Bishkek + 25 Summit and to have at its core the aspects of the triple planetary crisis - i.e. climate change, biodiversity loss and pollution.

Deepshikha Sharma of the International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) added the importance of considering air pollution and transboundary disaster risk reduction.

Antje Grawe, UN Resident Coordinator in Kyrgyzstan, underlined how the President of Kyrgyzstan wishes to present the substantive concept at the 2023 UN General Assembly next September. She urged that the working group finalize its work as quickly as possible. She posed the question of how the work would be organized and whether organizations would lead different topics and be responsible for their chapters.

Matthias Jurek, UNEP, reminded the Task Force that the recently adopted triennial resolution on sustainable mountain development contains a series of agreed recommendations that should provide the basis for the Action Plan.

Next steps and closing

The Task Force agreed that the MPS will share its <u>presentation</u> with the participants. The first meeting of the working group will take place on 13 April 2023 and will report back to the Task Force by the end of April. Those willing to join the working group should email Rosalaura Romeo at <u>rosalaura.romeo@fao.org</u>.

The Action Plan will need to be finalized by May 2023.

Annex 1: Meeting participants

Last name	First name	Affiliation	Country
Aitmurzaev	Nurlan	Gov. of Kyrgyzstan	Kyrgyzstan
Alibakieva	Cholpon	FAO	Kyrgyzstan
Altymysheva	Aliina	WHO	Kyrgyzstan
Arguello	Maria	CONDESAN	Ecuador
Azizova	Aijan	Gov. of Kyrgyzstan	Kyrgyzstan
Bougeard	Chloe	UNWTO	Spain
Buttanri	Esra	OSCE	Austria
Choibaeva	Roza	UN	Kyrgyzstan
David	Hilke	WFP	Kyrgyzstan
De Kock	Melissa	UNEP	Kenya
Hofer	Thomas	FAO	Italy
Isakov	Ermek	Emb. of Kyrgyzstan	Italy
Jurek	Matthias	UNEP	Austria
Gaido	Maria Soledad	UNWTO	Spain
Goettner	Patrick	UNCTAD	Switzerland
Grawe	Antje	UN	Kyrgyzstan
Mishra	Udayan	ICIMOD	Nepal
Nitu	Rodica	WMO	Switzerland
Price	Karen	CONDESAN	Peru
Robul	Kateryna	OSCE	Austria
Salavat	Baktybek Kyzy	IOM	Kyrgyzstan
Scott	Tim	UNDP	United States of America
Sharma	Deepshikha	ICIMOD	Nepal
Tokhtiev	Davronbek	UNWTO	Spain
Vespertino	Dario	UNDP	Thailand
Wittkop	Laura	Alpine Convention	Austria
Zholdubaeva	Lira	UNDP	Kyrgyzstan

Mountain Partnership Secretariat staff:

Samantha Abear Allison Bozzi Stefania Corrado Giorgio Grussu Yuna Lee

Sara Manuelli Fabio Parisi Rosalaura Romeo Laura Russo