

联合国 粮食及 农业组织

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture

Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COUNCIL

Hundred and Seventy-third Session

Rome, 10 July 2023

Membership of the Programme Committee, Finance Committee and Committee on Constitutional and Legal Matters

Executive summary

This document gives details of the present membership of the three Council Committees and also contains a link to the online nomination forms for each Committee. The forms should be completed online and submitted to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council by **12.00 hours on Monday 19 June 2023**.

The 173rd Session of the Council is requested to elect for the period July 2023 to June 2025:

- The Chairperson and 12 members of the Programme Committee;
- The Chairperson and 12 members of the Finance Committee; and
- The Chairperson and 7 members of the Committee on Constitutional and Legal Matters.

Queries on the substantive content of this document may be addressed to:

Rakesh Muthoo Secretary-General of the Conference and the Council Tel: +39 06570 55987 Email: CSG-Director@fao.org 2 CL 173/3

1. In accordance with Rule XXV.3(a) of the General Rules of the Organization (GRO), the Council elects the Chairperson and Members of the Programme Committee, Finance Committee and Committee on Constitutional and Legal Matters at its session held after a regular session of the Conference.

- 2. The deadline for submission of nominations for election to these bodies to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council is not later than 20 days before the opening date of the Council at which the election is to be held (Rules XXVI.2, XXVII.2 and XXXIV.2 of the GRO).
- 3. As the relevant Council Session is scheduled to be held on 10 July 2023, the deadline for submitting nominations to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council will be <u>12.00 hours</u> on Monday 19 June 2023.
- 4. The Programme Committee consists of a Chairperson and representatives of 12 Member Nations of the Organization (two members from each of the following regions: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Near East, and one member from North America and from Southwest Pacific). Each Member Nation seeking election communicates to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council the name of the representative that it would appoint if elected, and details of his or her qualifications and experience (Rule XXVI.2 of the GRO).
- 5. Likewise, the Finance Committee consists of a Chairperson and representatives of 12 Member Nations of the Organization (two members from each of the following regions: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Near East, and one member from North America and from Southwest Pacific). Each Member Nation seeking election communicates to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council the name of the representative that it would appoint if elected, and details of his or her qualifications and experience (Rule XXVII.2 of the GRO).
- 6. The Committee on Constitutional and Legal Matters consists of a Chairperson and representatives of seven Member Nations of the Organization (one member from each of the following regions: Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and Southwest Pacific). Each Member Nation seeking election communicates to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council the name of the representative that it would appoint if elected, and details of his or her qualifications and experience (Rule XXVIII.2 of the GRO).
 - 7. The present membership of the Committees is as follows:

PROGRAMME COMMITTEE

Chairperson: Ms Yael Rubinstein (Israel)

Argentina Iraq

Brazil Mali

Canada New Zealand

China Norway

France Sudan

India Zambia

CL 173/3

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Chairperson: Ms Imelda Smolcic (Uruguay)

Australia Panama

Egypt Russian Federation

Ethiopia Saudi Arabia

Japan Sweden

Mexico Thailand

Niger United States of America

COMMITTEE ON CONSTITUTIONAL AND LEGAL MATTERS

Chairperson: Ms Alison Storsve (United States of America)

Afghanistan Nicaragua

Algeria Philippines

Canada Slovakia

Fiji

- 8. Nomination forms are available on the FAO Members Gateway (http://www.fao.org/members-gateway/en/), in the restricted area for which all Members have been issued with a password.
- 9. The forms should be completed online and submitted to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council **by 12.00 hours on Monday 19 June 2023**.