

联合国 粮食及 农业组织

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture Продовольственная и эльскохозяйственная организация Объединенных Наций Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Alimentación y la Agricultura منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة

COUNCIL

Hundred and Seventy-fourth Session

Rome, 4-8 December 2023

Membership of the WFP Executive Board

Suggested action by the Council

In accordance with FAO Conference Resolution 7/2011, the Council is required to elect six FAO Member Nations to the WFP Executive Board for a term of office of three years (1 January 2024 - 31 December 2026) to fill the following seats:

- 2 seats from List A
- 1 seat from List C
- 2 seats from List D
- 1 seat from List E

The attached nomination form should be completed and signed by Member Nations wishing to stand for the above seats and submitted to the Secretary-General of the Conference and Council as a scanned copy by email to FAO-Council@fao.org by 12.00 hours on Monday, 27 November 2023.

Queries on the substantive content of this document may be addressed to:

Rakesh Muthoo Secretary-General of the Conference and the Council Tel: +39 06570 55987 Email: CSG-Director@fao.org CL 174/15.1

1. For purposes of election to the Board, FAO Member Nations are divided into five separate lists (A, B, C, D and E)* as shown on the FAO Council Web page under "Additional Information": [http://www.fao.org/about/meetings/council/cl174/en/].

- 2. The Council is required to elect six members for a term of office expiring on 31 December 2026 to replace the ones whose term ends on 31 December 2023, i.e. Argentina (C), Guatemala (C), Hungary (E), Ireland (D), Italy (D), Morocco (A).
- 3. Outgoing members are eligible for re-election.
- 4. A nomination form is given in *Appendix A*.

Term of office expiring	Elected by FAO Council	Elected by ECOSOC
31 December 2023	Argentina (C) ^{1, 2} Guatemala (C) ³ Hungary (E) Ireland (D) ⁴ Italy (D) ⁵ Morocco (A)	China (B) Japan (D) Lesotho (A) Mexico (C) Poland (E) United Kingdom (D)
31 December 2024	Bangladesh (B) ⁶ Kuwait (B) ⁷ Netherlands (D) Peru (C) Senegal (A) United States of America (D)	France (D) ⁹ Ghana (A) India (B) Republic of Korea (B) Russian Federation (E) Sweden (D)
31 December 2025	Brazil (C) Canada (D) Gabon (A) ⁸ Germany (D) Kenya (A) Saudi Arabia (B)	Australia (D) Ethiopia (A) Iran (Islamic Republic of) (B) Mauritania (A) Panama (C) Spain (D)
31 December 2026	(A)(C)(D)(D)(E)	China (B) Dominican Republic (C) Japan (D) Poland (E) United Kingdom (D) Zambia (A)

Guatemala and Argentina reached an agreement to share an FAO Council elected seat, with Guatemala serving from 1 January 2021 until 31 December 2021 and Argentina occupying the seat from 1 January 2022 until 31 December 2023.

Rotating seat occupied by a country of List C (2021-2023), held by Argentina. (This rotating seat is to be occupied by a country from List C Fourth Term

^{(2021-2023);} List A Fifth Term (2024-2026); and List B Sixth Term (2027-2029)

Brazil and Guatemala reached an agreement to share an FAO Council elected seat, with Brazil serving from 1 January 2021 until 31 December 2022 and Guatemala occupying the seat from 1 January 2023 until 31 December 2023.

⁴ Denmark reached an agreement with Ireland to share an FAO Council-elected seat, with Ireland serving in 2023. ⁵ Norway reached an agreement with Italy to share an FAO Council-elected seat, with Italy serving in 2023.

⁶ Bangladesh and Iran reached an agreement to share an FAO Council elected seat, with Bangladesh serving from 1 January 2022 until 31 December 2023 and Iran occupying the seat from 1 January 2024 until 31 December 2024. Following the ECOSOC election of Iran (1 January 2023 – 31 December 2025), List B reached the agreement that Bangladesh takes over from the Islamic Republic of Iran for the FAO Council-elected seat from 1 January 2024 - 31 December

⁷ Iran and Kuwait reached an agreement to share an FAO Council elected seat, with Iran serving from 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022 and Kuwait occupying the seat from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2024.

⁸ Gabon and Chad reached an agreement to share an FAO Council elected seat, with Gabon serving from 1 January 2023 until 30 June 2024, and Chad occupying the seat from 1 July 2024 until 31 December 2025.

⁹ Finland was elected to complete the unexpired term of office of France on the Executive Board from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2024.

CL 174/15.1

Appendix A

Nomination Form for the WFP Executive Board

accepts this nomination

To be submitted as scanned copy by email to FAO-Council@fao.org

Insert A, C, D or E as appropriate. Seats to be filled for 2024-2026 are: 2 from List A, 1 from List C, 2 from List D and 1 from List E.