Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page


The following persons served as members of an ICID ad hoc committee, responsible for guiding the document: Chandra A. Madramootoo (Chair), Martin K. Fritsch, William R. Johnston, Walter J. Ochs, Lambert K. Smedema, Lyman S. Willardson and Daniel Zimmer. Several of the committee members also served as authors, and were responsible for soliciting contributions from other writers. The contributions of all authors and co-authors are deeply appreciated.

Members of the ICID Working Group on Drainage and of the ICID Working Group on Environmental Impacts of Irrigation, Drainage and Flood Control Projects reviewed and provided useful comments on the draft chapter outlines and the final document. We are grateful to Robert Bos, Herman Bouwer, Heiko Diestel, Flemming Konradsen, Wayne Skaggs and Peter Widmoser for serving as external peer reviewers of the document. Thanks are due to the staff of the Water Quality and Environment Group, Water Resources, Development and Management Service of FAO, for the final review of the text.

The financial support provided by FAO to prepare the document is greatly acknowledged. Special thanks are due to Dr. Hans W. Wolter, Chief, Water Resources Development and Management Service, FAO, for his encouragement and support during the preparation of this volume. Dr. M.A. Chitale, Secretary-General of the ICID, and staff of the ICID Central Office in New Delhi are thanked for their support.

The Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, provided logistical and office support during the preparation of the document; Georges Dodds and Maria Gabriel were especially helpful, and their contributions are gratefully acknowledged. The manuscript was edited by Mr. Julian Plummer to whom we are very grateful.

Chandra A. Madramootoo, William R. Johnston and Lyman S. Willardson, Editors

Previous Page Top of Page Next Page