XIV World Forest Congress 2015

Wangari Maathai Forest Champions Award 2015

Thursday 10 September 2015

See room, times and speakers

The Wangari Maathai Forest Champions Award recognizes extraordinary efforts by an individual to improve and sustain forests and the people who depend on them.

One of the most prestigious forest accolades, the award was established by the Collaborative Partnership on Forests (CPF) to honour the memory of Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai, a champion of forest issues worldwide and the first African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize.

Nominations for the Wangari Maathai Forest Champions Award 2015 are open until Monday 15 June 2015. The award ceremony will take place at the XIV World Forestry Congress.

This will be the third time the CPF has presented the award since its launch in 2012. Past winners are Nepali activist Narayan Kaji Shrestha (2012) and Mexican environmental campaigner Martha Isabel ‘Pati’ Ruiz Corzo (2014).

The Collaborative Partnership on Forests consists of 14 international organizations, bodies and convention secretariats that have substantial programmes on forests. The mission of the Collaborative Partnership on Forests is to promote sustainable management of all types of forests and to strengthen long-term political commitment to this end. The objectives of the Partnership are to support the work of the United Nations Forum on Forests and its member countries and to enhance cooperation and coordination on forest issues.

Who can attend?

Everyone registered at the Congress is welcome to attend.