Bureau régional de la FAO pour l'Afrique

Africa Open DEAL – Africa, Data for the Environment, Agriculture and Land. FAO and the African Union Commission in technical cooperation

FAO and the African Union Commission are hosting an online presentation of the findings of the Africa DEAL (Open Data for Environment, Agriculture and Land) initiative which has captured a detailed snapshot of the continent through more than 300 000 sampling points.

The exciting findings open up huge opportunities related to the environment, agriculture and land use in Africa, and increase countries’ abilities to track changes and conduct analyses.

Date: 13th July 2021

Time: 2-4pm EAT  |  11am-1pm GMT  | 1-3pm Rome time

Languages: English, French, Portuguese

Experts from across Africa will participate in two sessions, high-level and technical.

Speakers include:

  • H.E. Amb. Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko, Commissioner, Agriculture, Rural Development, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment, African Union Commission
  • Prof Abdoulaye Dia, Executive Secretary of the Pan-African Agency of the Great Green Wall
  • Stergomena Lawrence Tax, Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)
  • Abebe Haile-Gabriel, FAO Assistant Director-General and Regional Representative for Africa, FAO Regional Office for Africa

Register here

Join the conversation on our Social Media channels:

@FAOAfrica