FAO :: Locust Watch :: Publications :: Reports :: By Topic :: Commissions :: SW Asia
SWAC - Commission for Controlling the Desert Locust in Southwest Asia
The Commission was established on 15 December 1964. It has four member countries (Afghanistan, India, Iran, and Pakistan) and meets every two years on a rotational basis in one of the Member Countries. The main activity of the Commission is the annual 30-day joint border survey of the spring breeding areas in southeast Iran and western Pakistan. Other activities concentrate on strengthening national capacities in survey, reporting, early warning, planning, training and control. The Secretary of the Commission is the Senior Locust Forecasting Officer at FAO HQ.


Establishment agreement

SWAC book