Country Specific Information


The Republic of Armenia (Hayastan in Armenian) covers a total area of 29 800 km2 and lies between 41°18’ and 38°5’ latitude north and between 43°29’ and 46°37’ longitude east. It borders Georgia in the north, Azerbaijan in the northeast, east and southwest, the Islamic Republic of Iran in the south and Turkey in the west. Armenia is landlocked and is located at about 145 km from the Black Sea, 175 km from the Caspian Sea, 750 km from the Mediterranean Sea and 960 km from the Persian Gulf. Its capital city is Yerevan.


The Republic of Azerbaijan covers a total area of 86 600 km² and lies between 41°54’ and 38°24’ latitude north and between 44°46’ and 50°51’ longitude east. It borders five countries (the Dagestan Republic of the Russian Federation in the north; Georgia, Armenia and Turkey in the west; and the Islamic Republic of Iran in the south) and has approximately 800 km of coastline along the Caspian Sea in the east. Its capital city is Baku (Baki), located on the southern side of the Apsheron peninsula on the Caspian Sea.


The Republic of Georgia (Sakartvelo in Georgian) covers a total area of 69 700 km2 and lies between 43°34’ and 41°02’ latitude north and between 40° and 46°43’ longitude east. It borders the Russian Federation to the north, Turkey and Armenia to the south, Azerbaijan to the east, and has approximately 310 km of coastline along the Black Sea in the west. Its capital city, Tbilisi, is located in central Georgia, on the River Mtkvari.