Agroecology Knowledge Hub

Future Policy Award Winners 2018 - Scaling Up Agroecology

29/03/2019 - 

In 2018, the Future Policy Award was co-organized by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the World Future Council, and IFOAM-Organics International and winners of the award were celebrated at an event at FAO on 15 October 2018. The Future Policy Award celebrates policies that create better living conditions for current and future generations and each year, a topic is chosen on which policy progress is particularly urgent. In 2018, that topic was agroecology. Eight award winners (ranging from Gold to Honorable Mention) were honored at the event, and now extended descriptions of all Future Policy Award winners are available from the Future Policy website.

Individual winners

Gold Award 2018
Sikkim’s State Policy on Organic Farming and Sikkim Organic Mission, India

Silver Award 2018
Brazil’s National Policy for Agroecology and Organic Production

Silver Award 2018
Denmark’s Organic Action Plan “Working together for more organics”

Silver Award 2018
Quito’s Participatory Urban Agriculture Programme

Vision Award 2018
TEEBAgriFood – The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity for Agriculture and Food Initiative

Honourable Mention 2018
Los Angeles’ Good Food Purchasing Program, USA

Honourable Mention 2018
Ndiob’s Vision to Become a Green and Resilient Municipality and Agriculture Development Programme, Senegal

Honourable Mention 2018
Kauswagan’s “From Arms to Farms” Programme, Philippines

For further information: