FAO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean
©FAO/Bill Ciesla

The Latin American and Caribbean Forestry Commission (LACFC) was established in 1948 as an FAO Statutory Body to provide Member Nations with a technical and political forum to discuss and analyse issues related to forests, as well as their contribution to food security, sustainable food production in the Region and the conservation of natural forest resources.

Latin American and Caribbean Forestry Commission (LACFC)

The mandate of the LACFC is to advise FAO on the Forestry Programme to be developed in the Region. It meets every two years, and serves as a forum for countries to analyze important regional forestry issues and to exchange knowledge and experiences. This includes the formulation of policies for the sustainable management of forests and wildlife, monitoring of forest resources, exchange of information, fight against deforestation and assessment of national and regional experiences.

The principal LACFC recommendations are reported to the FAO Regional Conference that meets every two years to establish priorities for FAO action in the Region. It also provides inputs to the FAO Committee on Forestry (COFO) and the United Nations Forum on Forests (UNFF).

LACFC also establishes guidelines on forestry matters for FAO cooperation endeavours with the Region's Member Nations in Regional Offices and Headquarters. These guidelines are used to formulate the FAO Regional and Global Forestry Programme.

Heads of Forestry Services and Administrations of the Region's Member Nations participate in LACFC, and Observers include Delegates from various United Nations Agencies, national and international NGOs and civil-society organizations.

LACFC invites participation from includes Sub-regional coordination groups for the Caribbean, Mesoamerica, Amazon and Southern Cone, thus enabling Member Nations to coordinate and supplement actions based on the exigencies of each Sub-region.

LACFC Member Countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • France
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela