FAO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean

The Community of Latin America and Caribbean States

What is CELAC?

CELAC is the result of several multilateral bodies established by Latin American countries to seek peace, socio-economic development and integration region-wide. It was created in February 2010 at a meeting of the CALC, in Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo - Mexico. Subsequently, at the Summit of Caracas - Venezuela, December 2011, it was definitively established as CELAC.

CELAC is an instrument to implement and strengthen regional participation in multilateral negotiation processes, extra-regional cooperation, and political dialogue towards the different challenges of the current economic, social and political system aiming at an equitable development.

CELAC’s Plan for Food Security, Nutrition and Hunger Eradication

CELAC's Plan for Food Security, Nutrition and Hunger Eradication 2025 emerges from a political will of the thirty-three countries in the region to eradicate hunger and poverty by 2025.

The Plan has four main pillars seeking to strengthen all aspects of food security. It is composed by ten main lines of action to develop national, subregional and regional policies, programs, strategies and projects to assist the 34 million people who still live with hunger in the Region.

CELAC plan contains the main successful food security policies and initiatives developed by countries in the region, and has become the major roadmap towards zero hunger by 2025. [View more]

CELAC Summits

Member countries of the CELAC