FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific

The Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific of FAO has  a set of four regional priority areas under the Strategic Programme on Food Systems. These provide a more integrated approach to strengthening FAO’s contribution to more efficient and inclusive food systems, and to ensure a clearer line of sight to the multiple SDGs impacted by food system developments.

Regional Priority One: Transforming agrifood systems for sustainable production and healthy diets

FAO recognizes the urgent need to reinvest in agrifood systems in the region to ensure achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). FAO in the region will continuously facilitate dialogue among Members to support the development of sustainable agrifood systems pathways. Moreover, FAO will support Members to foster enabling environments for the adoption of agrifood systems based on data, science and evidence, while implementing transformative projects and promoting further digitalization and mechanization among farming communities based on the region’s advanced experiences in these areas. Eight Programme Priority Areas (PPAs) of the FAO Strategic Framework 2022-31 will form the core of this priority for the region:

·         Innovation for sustainable agriculture production

·         Blue transformation

·         One Health

·         Small-scale producers’ equitable access to resources

·         Healthy diets for all

·         Nutrition for the most vulnerable

·         Safe food for everyone

·         Reducing food loss and waste