HLPE Steering Committee

The following 15 world-renowned experts have been appointed by the Bureau of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) to serve as members of the Steering Committee of the HLPE, from the closure of CFS 49 Plenary session (14 October 2021) until the closure of the CFS 51 Plenary session (October 2023).

Chairperson of the HLPE Steering Committee, Mr Bernard Lehmann (Switzerland)

Vice-Chairperson of the HLPE Steering Committee, Ms. Jennifer Clapp, (Canada)

Steering Committee members: Ms Olanike Adeyemo (Nigeria); Ms Barbara Burlingame (New-Zealand); Mr Ruben Echeverría (Uruguay); Ms Hilal Elver (Turkey); Mr William Moseley (United States of America); Ms Nitya Rao (India); Ms Elisabetta Recine (Brazil); Mr José María Sumpsi Viñas (Spain); Ms Akiko Suwa-Eisenmann (Japan); Mr Stefan Tangermann (Germany); Ms Shakuntala Thilsted (Trinidad and Tobago); Mr Patrick Webb (United States of America); Mr Iain Wright (United Kingdom).

Download the short bios of the HLPE StC members here

HLPE Steering Committee members participate in their individual capacities and not as representatives of their respective governments institutions or organizations.

Information on previous HLPE Steering Committees: