1st HLPE Steering Committee (2010-2013)

The following 15 world-renowned experts have been appointed by the Bureau of the CFS to the Steering Committee of the HLPE, to serve until CFS Plenary 2013.

Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan, Chairperson (India)
Maryam Rahmanian, Vice-Chairperson (Iran)
Catherine Bertini (United States of America)
Martin S. Kumar (since 1st July 2011, in replacement of Derek Byerlee) (Australia)
Tewolde Berhan Gebre Egziabher (Ethiopia)
Lawrence Haddad (United Kingdom)
Sheryl Lee Hendriks (South Africa)
Alain de Janvry (France)
Renato Maluf (Brazil)
Mona Mehrez Aly (Egypt)
Carlos Perez del Castillo (Uruguay)
Roelof Rabbinge (Netherlands)
Huajun Tang (China)
Igor Tikhonovich (Russia)
Niracha Wongchinda (Thailand)

Short bios of the experts are available here

The selection of the 15 experts was done by the Bureau of the CFS following a call for nominations and the review of candidatures and a proposition by an ad-hoc technical selection committee comprised of members of FAO, WFP, IFAD, Bioversity International (CGIAR) and a representative of the CSO/NGO Community and subsequent review.

HLPE Steering Committee members participate in their individual capacities and not as representatives of their respective governments institutions or organizations.