Работа в ФАО

Young Professionals Programme

What is it?

The Young Professionals Programme (YPP) is a recruitment initiative targeted for talented, qualified professionals who are mainly nationals of non- and underrepresented countries that are not members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Development Assistance Committee (OECD DAC), to start a career as an international civil servant with FAO.

Under the supervision of a senior staff member, YPP staff work with international and national staff and are involved in the identification, design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of FAO activities. Purposes of assignments vary and may have a country-specific, regional, sector-based or thematic focus.

YPP staff are offered two years fixed term contracts subject to a one-year probationary period. YPP staff will generally be employed at P-1 step 1 level on initial appointment and will move to P-1 step 2 level for the second year of their assignment.

What are the requirements?

Candidates for the YPP are selected on a highly competitive basis. The qualifications below are required for consideration:

  • Candidates should be 32 years of age or younger as of 31 December of the year of application;
  • Academic qualifications: Advanced university degree (Master’s, Ph.D. or equivalent) in a field relevant to the work of FAO;
  • A minimum of one year of professional experience in a field relevant to the work of FAO;
  • Language skills: Working knowledge of English and limited knowledge of another FAO official language (French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese or Russian);
  • Candidates must not bear any of the following relationships to staff members of the Organization: son, daughter, brother or sister.

Vacancies and how to apply

Please visit the list of YPP opportunities currently available in the Organization.

Kindly note that the application and selection process will be conducted in English. 

Nationals from the countries listed below are particularly encouraged to apply:

Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Central African Republic, China, Cook Islands, Estonia, Fiji, Grenada, Indonesia, Israel, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Qatar, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu.