XV World Forestry Congress

©FAO/Pilar Valbuena

Wangari Maathai Forest Champions Award Ceremony

May 5, 2022 | 4:00 PM KST - 4:30 PM KST

Watch the video replay English | French | Spanish | Korean

The 2022 winner of the Wangari Maathai Forest Champions Award was announced and celebrated at this ceremony event for his/her outstanding contributions to conserve, restore and sustainably manage forests and to raise awareness of the key role forests play in supporting local communities, rural livelihoods, women, youth and the environment.

The Collaborative Partnership on Forests (CPF) launched the first Wangari Maathai Award in 2012 to honour and commemorate the impact of the late Kenyan environmentalist, who championed forest issues across the globe. Maathai was the first African woman to win a Nobel Peace Prize for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace in 2004.

highlevel dialogue speakers