Page tools
codexalimentarius > News and Events > News details

CAC44 / Four candidates running for three Vice-Chairperson positions


There are four candidates standing to be one of three new Vice-Chairpersons of the Codex Alimentarius Commission in elections which will take place by secret ballot in Geneva on Thursday 11 November 2021.

The Codex membership agreed to proceed with elections even though the forty-fourth Commission is meeting virtually and a procedure has been put in place to ensure that Codex Members vote through an official physically present in their Geneva Mission or by appointing a proxy.

About the candidates (pictured left to right):

  • Salah Abou-Raya, Egypt, is a Professor of Food Sciences and Nutrition
  • Allan Azegele is a Food Safety Expert at the Ministry of Livestock Development in Kenya
  • Diego Varela, is International Affairs Coordinator in the Agency for Food Safety and Quality, Chile
  • Raj Rajasekar is a Senior Programme Manager in the Ministry for Primary Industries, New Zealand.

Elections today are for three positions and so those voting must indicate three preference on the ballot paper otherwise their vote will be null. With four candidates standing more than one round of voting may be necessary.

For details on the rules for voting and all the latest information on the elections, including links to a live webcast of the voting procedure in Geneva, visit the CAC44 election special pages and the CAC44 meeting page.


Read more

CAC44 / Steve Wearne, United Kingdom elected as 20th Chairperson of the Codex Alimentarius Commission