CODEX ALIMENTARIUS COMMISSION





Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy - Tel: (+39) 06 57051 - Fax: (+39) 06 5705 4593 - E-mail: codex@fao.org - www.codexalimentarius.org

Agenda Item 10

CX/NASWP 16/14/11 July 2016

JOINT FAO/WHO FOOD STANDARDS PROGRAMME FAO/WHO COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR NORTH AMERICA AND THE SOUTH WEST PACIFIC

14th Session

Port Vila, Vanuatu, 19 - 22 September 2016

NOMINATION OF THE COORDINATOR

- 1. The procedures governing the appointment of a Coordinator, as amended by the 30th Session of the Commission (2007) and approved by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO, are laid down in Rule IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
- 2. The amended Rule IV) reads as follows:
 - "IV.1 The Commission may appoint a Coordinator from among the Members of the Commission for any of the geographic locations enumerated in Rule III.1 (hereinafter referred to as "regions") or for any group of countries specifically enumerated by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as "groups of countries"), whenever it may find, on the basis of a proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group, that work for the Codex Alimentarius in the countries concerned so requires.
 - IV.2 Appointment of Coordinators shall be made exclusively on the proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group of countries concerned. In principle, they shall be nominated at each session of the relevant Coordinating Committee established under Rule XI.1(b)(ii), and appointed at the following regular session of the Commission. They shall hold office from the end of this session. Coordinators may be reappointed for a second term. The Commission shall make such arrangements as may be necessary in order to ensure continuity in the functions of the Coordinators.
 - IV.3 The functions of the Coordinators shall be:
 - (a) to appoint the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee where such committee has been set up under Rule XI.1(b)(ii) for the region or group of countries concerned;
 - (b) to assist and coordinate the work of the Codex Committees set up under Rules XI.1(b)(i) in their region or group of countries in the preparation of draft standards, guidelines and other recommendations for submission to the Commission.
 - (c) to assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest.
- 3. In accordance with Rule V.1 of the Rules of Procedure, as amended by the 28th Session of the Commission (2005), the Coordinators serve as members in the Executive Committee, together with the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons as well as seven further members elected on a geographic basis. The geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 are as follows: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and the South-West Pacific. The same Rule provides that not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.

CX/NASWP 16/14/11 2

4. At the time of writing, 14 countries in the Region of North America and the South-West Pacific are members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. These countries are:

Australia New Zealand

Canada Papua New Guinea

Cook Islands Samoa

Fiji Solomon Islands

Kiribati Tonga

Micronesia, Federated States of United States of America

Nauru Vanuatu

5. The Commission, at its 38th Session (6 -11 July 2015), appointed Vanuatu as Coordinator for North America and the South-West Pacific (REP15/CAC, para. 185). Vanuatu having served for one term, two years by July 2017, will be eligible for re-appointment. A full list of CCNASWP Coordinators is given in the Table below.

6. The Committee **is invited** to nominate a Coordinator for North America and the South West Pacific (one of the Member countries on the list above) for appointment by the 40th Session of the Commission (TBA, 1 - 5 July 2017).

CCNASWP Coordinators

Coordinator	Country	Year of appointment	CAC Session	Duration appointment
Dr Lester Crawford	USA	1989	18 th CAC	from end 18 th to 19 th CAC
Mr Digby Gascoine	Australia	1991	19 th CAC	from end 19 th to 20 th CAC
Mrs Katherine Gourlie	Canada	1993	20 th CAC	from end 20 th to 21 st CAC
Mr P.J. O'Hara	New Zealand	1995	21st CAC	from end 21st to 22nd CAC
Mr Thomas Billy	USA	1997	22 nd CAC	from end 22 nd to 23 rd CAC
Mr Geoff Gorrie	Australia	1999	23 rd CAC	from end 23 rd to 24 th CAC
Canada		2001	24 th CAC	from end 24 th to 26 th CAC
Samoa		2003	26 th CAC	from end 26th to 28th CAC
Samoa		2005	28 th CAC	from end 28th to 30th CAC
Tonga		2007	30 th CAC	from end 30 th to 32 nd CAC
Tonga		2009	32 nd CAC	from end 32 nd to 34 th CAC
Papua New Guinea		2011	34 th CAC	from end 34 th to 36 th CAC
Papua New Guinea		2013	36 th CAC	From end 36th to 38th CAC
Vanuatu		2015	38 th CAC	From end 38th to 40th CAC