



Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee

Your Excellency,

We, members of the Ad Hoc Technical Selection Committee, have the honour to refer to the meeting we held in Rome on 25 May 2023 to review the list of 77 official nominees, including 8 candidatures for reappointment, to the Steering Committee of the High-Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition (HLPE).

We have conducted our deliberations according to the procedures decided by the Committee on World Food Security (CFS) and its Bureau. In reviewing the list of candidates and elaborating our proposal, we paid particular attention to the individual criteria for HLPE Steering Committee members, as they were defined by the CFS, as well as to the assortment of technical disciplines, the balance of regional expertise and the gender representation.

We are pleased to present you herewith our proposal (Annex 1), which could constitute the next Steering Committee of the HLPE. Considering the need for both continuity and change, this proposal retains eight names from the outgoing Steering Committee. You will find in Annex 2 the short biographies of the proposed nominees and, in Annex 3, their full curricula vitae.

Yours sincerely,

Ismahane Elouafi (FAO)

Chair of the Ad Hoc Technical **Selection Committee**

Arif Husain (WPF)

Arif Husain

Joyce Njoro (Jun 6, 2023 10:00 GMT+2)

Joyce Njoro (IFAD)

Mamadou Goita (Jun 6, 20% 15:56 GMT)

James Stapleton Mamadou Goïta (CSIPM)

James Stapleton (CGIAR)

H.E. Ambassador Gabriel Ferrero y de Loma-Osorio Chairperson Committee on World Food Security

Annex 1 Proposed HLPE-FSN Steering Committee membership

Ms	Adeyemo	Olanike	Nigeria	South-Saharan Africa
Ms	Amiot-Carlin	Marie-Josèphe	France	Europe
Mr	Azam-Ali	Sayed	Pakistan	Central and Southern Asia
Mr	Duwayri	Mahmud	Jordan	Northern Africa and Western Asia
Mr	Echeverría	Ruben	Uruguay	Latin America and the Caribbean
Ms	Elizondo	Nilda	Mexico	Latin America and the Caribbean
Ms	Elver	Hilal	Türkiye	Northern Africa and Western Asia
Mr	Fraser	Evan	Canada	Northern America
Ms	Recine	Elisabetta	Brazil	Latin America and the Caribbean
Ms	Schonfeldt	Hettie	South Africa	South-Saharan Africa
Mr	Serraj	Rachid	Morocco	Northern Africa and Western Asia
Ms	Suwa-Eisenmann	Akiko	Japan	Eastern and South- Eastern Asia
Mr	Tangermann	Stefan	Germany	Europe
Mr	Webb	Patrick	United States of America	Northern America
Mr	Wright	lain	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Europe



AH

JN



JS