

# Journal



World Summit on Food Security

Monday, 16 November 2009

WSFS 2009/DJ/1

# **Programme of Meetings**

MORNING 09.00 hours

Item 1: INAUGURAL CEREMONY

Plenary Hall – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Building A

Welcome remarks by Mr Jacques Diouf Director-General of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Address by His Excellency Renato Schifani President of the Italian Senate

Address by Mr Ban Ki-moon Secretary-General of the United Nations

Welcome message from The Honourable Giovanni Alemanno Mayor of Rome

Address by Mr Jacques Diouf Director-General of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

10.00 hours

Item 2: OPENING OF SUMMIT

Plenary Hall – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Building A

Item 2.1 Election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons

Item 2.2 Adoption of the Agenda and Timetable

(WSFS 2009/1 Rev.1; WSFS 2009/INF/1 Rev.1)

Item 2.3 Election of the Chairpersons of the Round Tables

Item 3 Adoption of the World Summit on Food Security Declaration

(WSFS 2009/2)

# Item 4 GENERAL DEBATE – Statements by Heads of Delegation Plenary Hall – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Building A

His Excellency Muammar EL-GHEDDAFI Leader of the Revolution, **Libyan Arab Jamahiriya** and currently holding the **Presidency of the African Union** 

His Excellency Mohamed Hosni MUBARAK President of the **Arab Republic of Egypt** 

His Excellency Luiz Inácio LULA DA SILVA President of the **Federative Republic of Brazil** 

His Excellency Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa AL-THANI Amir of the **State of Qatar** 

Excma. Sra. Doña Michelle BACHELET JERIA Presidente de la **República de Chile** 

His Excellency Danilo TÜRK
President of the **Republic of Slovenia** 

His Excellency Bharrat JAGDEO President of the **Republic of Guyana** 

Son Excellence Monsieur Amadou Toumani TOURE Président de la **République du Mali** 

His Excellency James Alix MICHEL President of the **Republic of the Seychelles** 

His Excellency José Manuel BARROSO President of the **European Commission**  11.30 hours

Address by His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI

#### **AFTERNOON**

### 15.00 hours

Item 4 GENERAL DEBATE – Statements by Heads of Delegation (Cont'd.) Plenary Hall – 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Building A

Her Excellency Maud OLOFSSON
Deputy Prime Minister of the **Kingdom of Sweden**and currently holding the **Presidency of the European Union** 

His Excellency Bingu wa MUTHARIKA President of the **Republic of Malawi** 

His Excellency Liangyu HUI Vice Prime Minister of the **People's Republic of China** 

Son Excellence Monsieur Boni YAYI Président de la **République du Bénin** 

The Honourable (Ms) Sheikh HASINA WAJED Prime Minister of the **People's Republic of Bangladesh** 

His Excellency Bamir TOPI President of the **Republic of Albania** 

His Excellency Rupiah Bwezani BANDA President of the **Republic of Zambia** 

His Excellency Gordon BAJNAI Prime Minister of the **Republic of Hungary** 

His Excellency Jakaya Mrisho KIKWETE President of the **United Republic of Tanzania** 

His Excellency Runaldo Ronald VENETIAAN President of the **Republic of Suriname** 

The Honourable Sibusiso Barnabas DLAMINI Prime Minister of the **Kingdom of Swaziland** 

Their Excellencies Francesco MUSSONI and Stefano PALMIERI Captains Regent of the **Republic of San Marino** 

Son Excellence Monsieur Pierre NKURUNZIZA Président de la **République du Burundi** 

Son Excellence Général d'Armée François BOZIZE YANGOUVONDA Président de la **République centrafricaine** 

Son Excellence Monsieur Idriss DÉBY ITNO Président de la **République du Tchad** 

His Excellency Ernest Bai KOROMA President of the **Republic of Sierra Leone** 

Son Excellence Monsieur Ali BONGO ONDIMBA Président de la **République du Gabon** 

His Excellency Abdulaziz ABDULGHANI Speaker of the Shoora Council (The Senate) of the **Republic of Yemen** 

His Excellency Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed SAMBI President of the **Union of the Comoros** 

His Excellency Kgalema P. MOTLANTHE Deputy President of the **Republic of South Africa** 

Excma. Sra Doña Vanda PIGNATO Primera Dama de la **República de El Salvador** y Presidenta del Consejo de Seguridad Alimentaria y Nutricional

Mr Amre MOUSSA Secretary-General of the **League of Arab States** 

Mr Jean PING President of the **African Union** 

Mr Kanayo F. NWANZE President of the **International Fund for Agricultural Development** 

Ms Josette SHEERAN Executive Director of the **World Food Programme** 

Mr Ahmad Mohamed Ali AL-MADANI President of the Islamic Development Bank

Excma. Sra. Doña Elena ESPINOSA MANGANA Ministra de Medio Ambiente y Medio Rural y Marino del **Reino de España** 

Her Excellency Yelena SKRYNNIK Minister for Agriculture of the **Russian Federation** 

His Excellency Sharad PAWAR

Union Minister for Agriculture and Minister for Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution of the **Republic of India** 

Federal Minister for Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection of the Federal Republic of Germany

Son Excellence Monsieur Bruno LE MAIRE Ministre de l'alimentation, de l'agriculture et de la pêche de la **République française** 

The Honourable Fidelia Akuabata NJEZE
Minister of State for Agriculture and Water Resources of the **Federal Republic of Nigeria** 

Her Excellency Ilse AIGNER

The Honourable (Ms) Beverley J. ODA Minister for International Cooperation of **Canada** 

His Excellency Lars Peder BREKK
Minister for Agriculture and Food of the **Kingdom of Norway** 

15.00 hours ROUND TABLE 1

Red Room – 1<sup>st</sup> Floor Building A

Minimizing the negative impact of the food, economic and financial crisis on world food security. (WSFS/2009/RT/1)

# **Announcements**

## **Floating Passes**

Floating passes for delegations from FAO Members, observers from the UN system and Intergovernmental Organizations for the afternoon meeting in the Plenary Hall on 16 November, as well as for Tuesday, 17 November, will be distributed in room A486 in building A of FAO Headquarters as of 13.00h. Floating passes for Non Governmental Organizations will be distributed in room B006 on the ground floor in building B.